Nightlife

There's a hoot for every night owl at Valley clubs this summer

AUGUST

There's plenty of cuttin' and scratchin' at Valley clubs this summer.
There's plenty of cuttin' and scratchin' at Valley clubs this summer.
The heat is on at weekly DJ events like Suede's "Posh" and "Batucada" at Next.
The heat is on at weekly DJ events like Suede's "Posh" and "Batucada" at Next.

Superstition Springs Center: 6555 E. Southern Ave., Mesa, 480-396-2570. Saturday, August 21: Western Electric Band.

Jazz/blues/world Weekly events

Ascension Lutheran Church: 7100 N. Mockingbird Ln., Paradise Valley, 480-948-6050. Saturdays: Jazz Vespers Service with the Bob Ravenscroft Trio.

Aunt Chilada's Restaurant: 7777 S. Pointe Pkwy. West, 602-431-6470. Fridays & Saturdays: Augustine Ramirez, strolling mariachi.

Barwinkles: 5930 W. Greenway Rd., Glendale, 602-938-9330. Sundays: Carvin Jones.

Bistro Isabelle: 7131 W. Ray Rd., Chandler, 480-705-9270. Thursdays-Saturdays: Aebi-Coulson Jazz Duo. Mondays-Wednesdays: Channette.

Bobby C's Lounge & Grill: 1140 E. Washington St., 602-252-2273. Sundays: Synergy Jazz Band.

Buckets: 7216 E. Shoeman Ln., Scottsdale, 480-994-8484. Fridays: Ted Alan Jazz Trio.

Caffe Boa: 5063 E. Elliot Rd., Ahwatukee, 480-893-3331. Fridays: Ron Fingers Allstars. Saturdays: N2.

Char's Has the Blues: 4631 N. Seventh Ave., 602-230-0205. Tuesdays: Soul Horizons. Wednesdays: AZ Blues with Big Pete Pearson. Thursdays: Bad News Blues Band.

Chianti: 3943 E. Camelback Rd., 602-957-9840. Sundays: Doc Jones Band.

Down the Hatch: 3223 S. Mill Ave., Tempe, 480-377-8100. Fridays & Saturdays: Carvin Jones.

El Zocalo Mexican Grill: 28 S. San Marcos Pl., Chandler, 480-722-0303. Fridays (bi-weekly): Mariachi Los Putrillos.

J. Chew & Company: 7320 Scottsdale Mall, Scottsdale, 480-946-2733. Thursdays: Phil Hendricks.

Jet Lag Lounge: 7908 E. Chaparral Rd., Scottsdale, 480- 941-9144. Wednesdays-Saturdays: Doc Chaney & the Jet Lag Jazzband. Tuesdays: The Joe Hopkins Quartet. Sundays: Doc Chaney leads jazz jam.

Kazimierz World Wine Bar: 7131 E. Stetson Dr., Scottsdale, 480-946-3004. Mondays: Jazz jam session hosted by Margo Reed & Tony Vacca. Thursdays (through June): Dennis Rowland Band.

A League of Our Own: 40 E. Camelback Rd., 602-265-2354. Wednesdays: Paul Stubblefield Trio.

Minder Binder's: 715 S. McClintock Dr., Tempe, 480-966-1911. Thursdays: Reggae Thursdays with Kindread.

Pepin: 7363 Scottsdale Mall, Scottsdale, 480-990-9026. Fridays & Saturdays: Salsa night with DJ Ramiro El Rumbero.

Philthy Phil's Nightclub: 2939 N. 16th St., 602-279-4339. Tuesdays: Blues jam hosted by the Rocket 88's.

Pronto Ristorante: 3950 E. Campbell Ave., 480-994-1520. Wednesdays: Margo Reed. Thursdays: Tony Vacca's Jam Session.

Remington's Restaurant: 7200 N. Scottsdale Rd., Scottsdale, 480-948-5000. Tuesdays-Saturdays: Danny Long & John Daley.

Sky Lounge: 123 E. Washington St., 602-229-1110. Fridays: Cascabel.

The Vine -- Phoenix: 2808 E. Indian School Rd., 602-957-9806. Tuesdays: Carvin Jones.

Special events

JUNE

El Pedregal: 34505 N. Scottsdale Rd., Scottsdale, 480-488-1072. Thursday, June 3: Azz Izz. Thursday, June 10: The Diamonds. Thursday, June 17: Jake & Elwood Blues -- The Blues Brothers Revue. Thursday, June 24: Michael Reed with Frank & Margo.

Eurasia Bistro: 8225 E. Indian Bend Rd., Scottsdale, 480-991-1571. Wednesday, June 9: Touch of Blues, Tony Monaco, B-3 Organ Quartet, & more.

Jazz in the Hills Coffee House: 17149 E. Amhurst Dr., Fountain Hills, 480-837-9771. Friday, June 4: Novo Mundo. Friday, June 11: Dos Amigos. Friday, June 18: Andy Margolis Trio. Friday, June 25: Armand Boatman Trio.

Phoenix Civic Plaza: 225 E. Adams St., 602-262-7272. Saturday, June 12: El Gran Silencio.

Piano Jazz Showcase: 15600 N. Scottsdale Rd., Scottsdale, 480-488-4553. Monday, June 14: Metro Phoenix 12-piece Jazz Orchestra Flag Day concert. Tuesday, June 22: Novo Mundo Brazilian Jazz Summer Fantasy.

Rhythm Room: 1019 E. Indian School Rd., 602-265-4842. Thursday, June 3: Bernie Leadon. Saturday, June 5: Cold Shott & the Hurricane Horns. Sunday, June 6: Buckwheat Zydeco. Tuesday, June 8: Twistin' Tarantulas. Wednesday, June 9: Touch of Blues & Tony Monaco. Thursday, June 10: Asylum Street Spankers. Sunday, June 13: Sunday Blues Showcase. Tuesday, June 15: Califone. Friday, June 18: Big Pete Pearson Blues Band. Saturday, June 19: Sistah Blue. Sunday, June 20: Brian Auger's Oblivion Express. Wednesday, June 23: Garag Mahal. Friday, June 25: Bad News Blues Band. Saturday, June 26: Raven's birthday party with Soul Deep. Monday, June 28: Mofro & Soulstorm. Tuesday, June 29: Sean Costello. Wednesday, June 30: Shawn Pittman.

Steele Indian School Park: 3rd St. & Indian School Rd., 602-495-0739. Saturday, June 5: Big Pete Pearson Band.

JULY

El Pedregal: 34505 N. Scottsdale Rd., Scottsdale, 480-488-1072. Thursday, July 1: Patriotic Concert.

Phoenix Civic Plaza: 225 E. Adams St., 602-262-7272. Tuesday, July 27, through Saturday, July 31: Spot.

Piano Jazz Showcase: 15600 N. Scottsdale Rd., Scottsdale, 480-488-4553. Tuesday, July 13: The New Matt Butterman Quintet. Tuesday, July 20: Scott Mounger's Gibralter.

Rhythm Room: 1019 E. Indian School Rd., 602-265-4842. Tuesday, July 6: Dale Watson.

Steele Indian School Park: 3rd St. & Indian School Rd., 602-495-0739. Saturday, July 10: Clan/destine.

Superstition Springs Center: 6555 E. Southern Ave., Mesa, 480-396-2570. Saturday, July 3: Ultimaxx. Saturday, July 17: Cascabel. Saturday, July 31: Alonzo & Mango Mango.

AUGUST

Rhythm Room: 1019 E. Indian School Rd., 602-265-4842. Saturday, August 14: Lil' Ed & the Blues Imperials.

Steele Indian School Park: 3rd St. & Indian School Rd., 602-495-0739. Saturday, August 7: Barrio Latino.

Venue of Scottsdale: 7117 E. Third Ave., Scottsdale, 480-945-5150. Wednesday, August 18: Burning Spear.

Hip-hop/R&B Weekly events

Bobby C's Lounge & Grill: 1140 E. Washington St., 602-252-2273. Thursdays: Street Life.

Majerle's: 24 N. Second St., 602-253-9004. Saturdays: Volume Zone presents hip-hop and freestyle contest.

Special events

JUNE

The Mason Jar: 2303 E. Indian School Rd., 602-954-0455. Saturday, June 26: Hip-hop with ADDA2U2.

The Old Brickhouse: 1 E. Jackson St., 602-258-7888. Tuesday, June 29: Executioners & Pharcyde.

Classical music Special events

JUNE

monOrchid: 214 E. Roosevelt St., 602-254-1491. Saturday, June 5, & Sunday, June 6: The Downtown Chamber Series (classical music).

« Previous Page
 |
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
All
 
My Voice Nation Help
0 comments
 
Loading...