Nun Sense

Shanley’s old-school Sister calls out the Catholic Church

It was only a matter of time before someone wrote a play about the mess the Catholic Church has gotten itself into the past several years. When it debuted on Broadway in 2004, Doubt, A Parable was whispered about as a theatrical inevitability, and its author, Bronx-born screenwriter John Patrick Shanley, was sneered at as an opportunist. But not for long. Doubt was an immediate critical and audience favorite, and went on to win the Pulitzer Prize for Drama and the Tony for Best Play of 2004. Its story, about an old-school nun at odds with a Vatican II priest who may or may not be having an affair with one of Sister’s students, features an Actors Theatre cast that couldn’t be better: Rusty Ferracane makes a rare stage appearance in the lead, and Patti Davis Suarez, who wowed audiences this summer in Theatre Artists Studio’s Collected Stories, plays Sister Aloysius.
Fri., Sept. 12, 8 p.m.; Sat., Sept. 13, 8 p.m.; Sun., Sept. 14, 2 p.m.; Thu., Sept. 18, 7 p.m.; Fri., Sept. 19, 8 p.m.; Sat., Sept. 20, 8 p.m.; Sun., Sept. 21, 2 p.m.; Wed., Sept. 24, 7 p.m.; Thu., Sept. 25, 7 p.m.; Fri., Sept. 26, 8 p.m.; Sat., Sept. 27, 8 p.m.; Sun., Sept. 28, 2 p.m., 2008
 
My Voice Nation Help
0 comments
 
Phoenix Concert Tickets
Loading...