The Blackboard Jungle

Witness the story of an inspirational teacher

Folks who fear ill-behaved teenagers (and those who don’t fancy struggle-hope-and-laughter dramas that rehash the plot line from To Sir, with Love and Up the Down Staircase) might consider staying away from the Herberger Theater’s Stage West for the next few weeks. Everyone else -- especially those who like critically acclaimed solo shows about the redemption of wayward high-school kids -- should mark their calendars for Nilaja Sun’s No Child.

Billed as “a glimpse of life in the New York City Public School System,” No Child recreates Sun’s eight-year experience as a teaching artist in the Bronx schools. She tells about how she was hired to direct troubled tenth graders in a play, and what happened when she chose a piece by an 18th century Australian playwright. Expect chest-thumping Vinnie Barbarino types, a stern principal, and teary-eyed redemption from this Off-Broadway hit.

Related Stories

More About

No Child is presented by Actors Theatre.


Fri., April 23, 8 p.m.; Sat., April 24, 8 p.m.; Sun., April 25, 2 p.m.; Thu., April 29, 7 p.m.; Fri., April 30, 8 p.m.; Sat., May 1, 8 p.m.; Sun., May 2, 2 p.m.; Wed., May 5, 7 p.m.; Thu., May 6, 7 p.m.; Fri., May 7, 8 p.m.; Sat., May 8, 8 p.m.; Sun., May 9, 2 p.m., 2010
 
My Voice Nation Help
0 comments
Sort: Newest | Oldest
 
Loading...