Grey Matter

Squalor. Raccoons. The Kennedys. Blind cats pissing behind oil paintings, and a skirt worn as a cape over a blouse that’s actually a pair of Capri pants. This, as the hippest among us know all too well, is Grey Gardens.

Named for the once-grand East Hampton mansion where Jackie Kennedy’s aunt, Edith Bouvier Beale, lived with her reclusive and oddball daughter “Little Edie,” Grey Gardens was originally a 1973 documentary by George and Albert Maysles that revealed the strange life and weird relationship between these two New England ladies. A big deal with cult film fans for years, the movie eventually morphed into a stage play, a Broadway musical, and an HBO TV movie.

The musical version of this zany story runs through April 3 at Tempe Little Theatre. Landing the Arizona premiere of this show is a coup of sorts for this tiny community theater.


Fri., March 18, 8 p.m.; Sat., March 19, 8 p.m.; Sun., March 20, 2 p.m.; Fri., March 25, 8 p.m.; Sat., March 26, 2 & 8 p.m.; Sun., March 27, 2 p.m.; Thu., March 31, 7 p.m.; Fri., April 1, 8 p.m.; Sat., April 2, 2 & 8 p.m.; Sun., April 3, 2 p.m., 2011
 
My Voice Nation Help
0 comments
 
Phoenix Concert Tickets
Loading...