Culture News

2015 Arizona Governor's Arts Award Winners Announced

Winners of the 2015 Arizona Governor's Arts Awards were announced in a Tuesday, March 24, ceremony at the Sheraton Phoenix Downtown Hotel.

The awards honor both individuals and businesses who have made substantial and outstanding contributions to arts and culture in Arizona and are presented by the Office of Governor Doug Ducey, Arizona Citizens for the Arts, and the Arizona Commission on the Arts.

See also: Arizona Commission on the Arts Budget Cut by $1 Million

From a pool of 65 nominees, six winners were honored at the event with custom awards made by Arizona artists Alexandra Bowers, Randy Kemp, Jacob Meders, Gabriela Muñoz, Rossitza Todorova, Kathleen Velo, and Claire A. Warden. The Shelley Award was presented to the Papp Family for their work as art donors and advocates.

The 2015 winners are. . .

Artist Award: William Eaton

Individual Award: I. Michael Kasser

Arts In Education Individual Award: Dr. Margaret Schmidt, Arizona State University

Arts in Education Organization Award: Phoenix Conservatory of Music

Community Award: West Valley Arts Council's Gallery 37

Business Award: CopperPoint Mutual

See also: State of the Arts: 10 Things Phoenix Needs to Do

Follow Jackalope Ranch on Facebook, Twitter, and Pinterest.

KEEP PHOENIX NEW TIMES FREE... Since we started Phoenix New Times, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of Phoenix, and we'd like to keep it that way. With local media under siege, it's more important than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" program, allowing us to keep offering readers access to our incisive coverage of local news, food and culture with no paywalls.
Becky Bartkowski is an award-winning journalist and the arts and music editor at New Times, where she writes about art, fashion, and pop culture.
Contact: Becky Bartkowski