Childsplay founder David Saar took home the Shelley Award.EXPAND
Childsplay founder David Saar took home the Shelley Award.
Arizona Citizens for the Arts

Here Are the 2016 Arizona Governor's Arts Award Winners

Congrats are in order, Arizona.

On the evening of March 23, the 2016 Arizona Governor's Arts Award winners were announced in a ceremony at the Sheraton Phoenix Downtown Hotel. Since 1981, the awards have recognized creatives and organizations who have made a positive impact on the state's arts and culture.

This year, Phoenix artist Annie Lopez took home the Artist Award. Susan Gamble of Tucson was given the Individual Award. The Arts in Education Individual Award went to Flagstaff's Joseph Maniglia, while Phoenix's Release the Fear was awarded the Arts in Education Organization Award. The Museum of Northern Arizona won the Community Award. APS took home the Large Business Award, while Canyon Records won the Small Business Award.

And the 10th annual Shelley Award was presented to David Saar, the retiring founder and artistic director of Childsplay.

Arizona creatives Christine Cassano, Merlin Cohen, Christopher Colville, Evelyn Fredericks, Jan Marshall, Hallie Mueller, Mark Pomilio, and Mary Shindell crafted this year's awards. 

Nominations for the 2017 awards will open in the fall.


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >