• Slideshows
  • Videos
 
MORE

Pen & Tell-All

Despite wealth, fame, and success, the Wyeths’ chief concern at Christmas 2004 in Palm Springs is daughter Brooke’s upcoming memoir (her folks had hoped for a novel -- oh, and Brooke’s fresh from what’s called a “mental breakdown”). The fictional family featured in Other Desert Cities isn’t the Reagans but has a lot in common with them: specifically, a conservative actor-turned-politician dad and that troublesome aging-hippie offspring.

The Tony-nominated, 2012 Pulitzer-finalist play by Jon Robin Baitz (creator of TV’s Brothers & Sisters) gets its Arizona première production from Arizona Theatre Company through Sunday, March 2, at Herberger Theater Center, 222 East Monroe Street. Critics and audiences hail Baitz’s witty dialogue and the micro-domestic parallels of personal history to the wars and terrorism playing out alongside. While Brooke derives some comfort and support from her literally trippy aunt Silda, her brother Trip (yes, really) blithely produces reality TV, and mom Polly tries to hold everything together.

Friday, February 21’s curtain is at 8 p.m. and tickets, ranging from $40.50 to $72, are selling super-well at www.ticketmaster.com and 602-256-6995.

Thu., Feb. 20, 2 & 7:30 p.m.; Fri., Feb. 21, 8 p.m.; Sat., Feb. 22, 2 & 8 p.m.; Sun., Feb. 23, 1 & 7 p.m.; Wed., Feb. 26, 7:30 p.m.; Thu., Feb. 27, 7:30 p.m.; Fri., Feb. 28, 8 p.m.; Sat., March 1, 4 & 8 p.m.; Sun., March 2, 1 p.m., 2014

Use Current Location

Related Location

miles
Herberger Theater Center

222 E. Monroe St.
Phoenix, AZ 85004

602-254-7399

www.herbergertheater.org


Sponsor Content