• Slideshows
  • Videos

Staging The Aging

Hyperbole is no stranger to art. For example, when The Proclaimers proclaimed that they would "walk 500 miles," we all knew they were fibbing. Besides, Scots don't walk miles, they walk kilometers. Conversely, playwright Amy Herzog's delicately wrought work 4000 Miles does tell a tale of a man traveling a great distance to be with someone he loves, his grandma.

Well that isn't the premise exactly, but the play does explores the unique bond formed between 21-year-old Leo and his 91-year-old grandmother, Vera Joseph, when Leo cohabits with her after completing a cross-country bike trip. Herzog's ability to portray the kindling of such an unlikely relationship while craftily juxtaposing the contrast between growing older and growing up makes 4000 Miles seem well worth the trip. The play begins at 8 p.m. Friday, January 10, and runs through Sunday, January 26, at Helen K. Mason Performing Arts Center, 1333 East Washington Street. Tickets start at $22.25. Visit www.actorstheatrephx.org or call 602-888-0368 for details.

Fri., Jan. 10, 8 p.m.; Sat., Jan. 11, 8 p.m.; Sun., Jan. 12, 2 p.m.; Thu., Jan. 16, 7 p.m.; Fri., Jan. 17, 8 p.m.; Sat., Jan. 18, 8 p.m.; Sun., Jan. 19, 2 p.m.; Wed., Jan. 22, 7 p.m.; Thu., Jan. 23, 7 p.m.; Fri., Jan. 24, 8 p.m.; Sat., Jan. 25, 8 p.m.; Sun., Jan. 26, 2 p.m., 2014

Use Current Location

Related Location

Black Theatre Troupe Center for the Performing Arts

1333 E. Washington St.
Phoenix, AZ 85034



Sponsor Content


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >