Culture News

2011 Governor's Arts Awards Nominees

The 2011 Governor's Arts Awards will celebrate 30 years in April by recognizing creatives who have achieved and contributed to the Arizona arts community.

The awards, presented by Arizona Citizens for the Arts, the Arizona Commission on the Arts and the Office of the Governor of Arizona, are given annually to artists, educators, business, communities, and individuals throughout Arizona.

We're talking creatives (and creative things) including ASU Art Museum curator John Spiak, dance fiend Lisa Starry, the eye candy at the Bead Museum, artist Gregory Sale, local arts advocate Jane Reddin, and performance artist (and embroidery guru) Angela Ellsworth, to name a few.

Winners will be announced during the 30th Anniversary Governor's Arts Awards, Tuesday, April 12, 2011 at the Herberger Theater in Phoenix.

Check out a full list of the nominations after the jump ...

Zam Alidina, Phoenix    
Susan Beiner, Tempe     
Kevin S. Berry, Phoenix     
Carley Conder, Tempe     
Mary De Loyht, Scottsdale     
Jody Drake, Prescott     
Angela Ellsworth, Scottsdale     
Lawrence Enyart, Phoenix     
Dagne Hanson, Phoenix     
Paul Hawkins, Camp Verde     
Patsy Lowry, Paradise Valley 
Danell Lynn, Phoenix  
Joseph McGrath, Tucson
Luis Mena, Tucson
Martin Moreno, Laveen
James N. Muir, Sedona
Paul Nosa, Tucson
Catalin Rotaru, Tempe
Lisa Starry, Phoenix
Betsy Dillard Stroud, Scottsdale
David Therrien, Phoenix
Connie Whitlock, Surprise

Arts in Education (Individual)
Matt Baker, Phoenix     
KellyAnn Bonnell, Phoenix     
Dr. Mary Erickson, Tempe     
Nancy Genys, Gilbert     
Emily Krull, Gilbert     
Ann Ludwig, Tempe     
Melissa Nelson, Cave Creek
Jill Osborne, Tempe
Gregory Sale, Phoenix
Nando Schellen, Flagstaff
Debra K. Stevens, Tempe
Victoria Westover, Tucson

Arts in Education (Organization):
Arizona School for the Arts, Phoenix     
The Bead Museum, Glendale     
EPIK Dance Company, Phoenix     
Marshall Magnet Elementary School, Flagstaff     
Prescott Art Docents, Prescott     Superstition Review, Mesa
Sonoran Glass Art Academy, Tucson
Tonto Community Concert Association, Payson
Tri-City College Prep High School, Prescott
Washington Elementary School District, Glendale

Cox Communications, Southern Arizona     
Etherton Gallery, Tucson     
JP Morgan Chase     
Meridian Bank
ON Media, Phoenix
Southwest Ambulance

Arizona Broadway Theatre, Peoria     
Casa Grande Arts & Humanities Commission     
Del E. Webb Center for the Performing Arts, Wickenburg  
Coconino County Public Library, Flagstaff     
Flagstaff Symphony Orchestra     
Free Arts for Abused Children of Arizona, Phoenix     
Kore Press, Tucson     
The Loft Cinema, Inc., Tucson
Mesa Arts Center
NEW ARTiculations Dance Theatre, Tucson
Scottsdale Neighborhood Arts Place
Tubac Center for the Arts
West Valley Youth Orchestra, Avondale
Young Arts Arizona, Ltd., Phoenix

Rod Ambrose, Phoenix     
Bobb Cooper, Phoenix     
The Dallabetta's -
John L., John A. & Amanda, Yuma     
Carmen de Novais-Guerrero, Mesa     
John Fontana, Scottsdale     
Amanda Melby, Scottsdale     
Hope Ozer, Paradise Valley
Jane Reddin
John Spiak, Mesa
Rosemary Tunnell, Lake Havasu City
Robert J. Ulrich, Paradise Valley
Carol D. Whiteman, Phoenix

KEEP PHOENIX NEW TIMES FREE... Since we started Phoenix New Times, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of Phoenix, and we'd like to keep it that way. With local media under siege, it's more important than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" program, allowing us to keep offering readers access to our incisive coverage of local news, food and culture with no paywalls.
Claire Lawton
Contact: Claire Lawton