2014 Arizona Governor's Art Award Winners Announced in Mesa

Winners of the 2014 Arizona Governor's Art Awards were announced Tuesday, March 25, during a ceremony held at Mesa Arts Center.

Presented by Arizona Citizens for the Arts in partnership with the Arizona Commission on the Arts and the Office of the Governor, the awards honor both individuals and businesses who have made substantial and outstanding contributions to arts and culture in Arizona.

See also: The 2013 Arizona Governor's Arts Awards Winners

Of 84 nominees, six winners received custom awards made by Arizona artists (including Phoenix's Monica Aissa Martinez, Cindy Schnackel, and Steve Bunyard) during the 33rd annual ceremony. The eighth annual Shelley Award also was presented.

The 2014 winners are . . .

Artist Award: Daniel Buckley

Individual Award: Anni Beach

Community Award: University of Arizona Poetry Center

Arts in Education - Individual: Dr. Robert Benson

Arts in Education - Organization: Rosie's House: A Musical Academy for Children

Business Award: BMO Harris Bank

Shelley Award: John P. and Helen S. Schaefer

Follow Jackalope Ranch on Facebook, Twitter, and Pinterest.

We use cookies to collect and analyze information on site performance and usage, and to enhance and customize content and advertisements. By clicking 'X' or continuing to use the site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. To find out more, visit our cookies policy and our privacy policy.


All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >