Culture News

2014 Governor's Arts Awards Nominees Announced

Nominees were announced this morning for the the 33rd annual Governor's Arts Awards. The 84 nominees include businesses and individuals spanning the state who have made substantial and outstanding contributions to arts and culture in Arizona.

Presented by Arizona Citizens for the Arts in partnership with the Arizona Commission on the Arts and the Office of the Governor, the awards are divided into six categories, and honorees are selected by an independent panel of judges.

And the nominees are . . .

See also: 10 Metro Phoenix Artists to Follow on Instagram

Artist Eugene D. Anderson, Apache Junction Jon Bonnell, Phoenix Daniel Buckley, Tucson Bobb Cooper, Phoenix Derrick Suwaima Davis, Hotevilla Maria Isabel Delgado, Chandler Michael J. Eddy, Phoenix Dr. Rose French, Phoenix Deborah Hodder, Phoenix Simon Kregar, Tucson Lia Littlewood, Yuma Danell Lynn, Phoenix Joella Jean Mahoney, Sedona Corinne McAuley, Surprise Luis Mena, Tucson Kirk O'Hara, Mesa Renee Palmer-Jones, Anthem Joseph Rodgers, Tucson Michelle Rouch, Vail Mike Vax, Dewey Baje Whitethorne Sr., Flagstaff

Arts in Education - Individual Dr. Suzette Battan, Tucson Chris Donlon, Mesa Paula Humpage, Phoenix Gay Kohl, Scottsdale Kathleen & Selene Kupper, Phoenix Adrienne Magee, Tucson Sharon Seder Meko, Gilbert Claude Pensis, Phoenix Step Raptis, Mesa Carolyn Robbins, Scotttsdale Melanie Sainz, Phoenix Mark Sunkett, Mesa Morgan Wells, Tucson Stephen Wrentmore, Tucson.

Arts in Education - Organization Arizona Artists Guild, Phoenix Arizona Theatre Company Education Programs, Tucson Arts Express, Tucson Ballet Etudes, Gilbert Copperstar Repertory Company, Chandler EPIK Dance Company, Phoenix Gold Canyon Arts Education, Gold Canyon LDVinci Art Studio, Chandler Mesa Community College Theatre and Film Program, Mesa Rosie's House: A Music Academy for Children, Phoenix Sahuarita High School Summer Youth Art Program, Sahuarita Scottsdale Artists' School, Scottsdale Sonoran Glass School, Tucson The Symphony Women's Association, Tucson Vitruvius Program at Summit School of Ahwatukee

Business BMO Harris Bank, Phoenix Celebration of Fine Art, Scottsdale General Growth Properties, Tucson Sasha and Rodney Glassman, Phoenix

Community Artlink, Inc., Phoenix City of Casa Grande Arts & Humanities Commission, Casa Grande City of Peoria, Peoria Flagstaff City-Coconino County Public Library, Flagstaff Flagstaff Cultural Partners, Flagstaff Grand Canyon Association Celebration of Art, Grand Canyon KXCI Community Radio, Tucson Looney Tooner Kitchen, Scottsdale Phoenix Women's Chorus, Phoenix Sierra Vista Symphony Orchestra Association, Sierra Vista University of Arizona Poetry Center, Tucson WHAM Art Organization, Surprise William Eaton, Cottonwood Young Arts Arizona Ltd., Phoenix

Individual Anni Beach, Chandler Dr. Robert Benson, Glendale Tom and Laurie Carmody, Phoenix Grace Ann Etchebarria-Jacobs, Lake Havasu City Robert Machiz, Scottsdale Robert J Miley, Phoenix Lora Lee Nye, Prescott Valley Meribeth Reeves, Cave Creek 'Monica Saldana, Goodyear Julie Sasse, PhD, Tucson Renee Smith, Yuma Mayor Scott Smith, Mesa John Wells, Tucson Phelps & Kay Wilkins, Springerville Steven Zylstra, Phoenix

Winners will be announced during the Governor's Arts Awards on Tuesday, March 25, at Mesa Arts Center. Tickets are $135 for members of Arizona Citizens for the Arts and $150 for nonmembers. For more information, visit

Follow Jackalope Ranch on Facebook, Twitter, and Pinterest.

KEEP PHOENIX NEW TIMES FREE... Since we started Phoenix New Times, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of Phoenix, and we'd like to keep it that way. With local media under siege, it's more important than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" program, allowing us to keep offering readers access to our incisive coverage of local news, food and culture with no paywalls.
Becky Bartkowski is an award-winning journalist and the arts and music editor at New Times, where she writes about art, fashion, and pop culture.
Contact: Becky Bartkowski