Candle Power | Calendar | Phoenix | Phoenix New Times | The Leading Independent News Source in Phoenix, Arizona
Navigation

Candle Power

We’ve become increasingly romantic this holiday season, whether gazing at birds on a wire or contemplating the winter sunsets or anticipating a seasonal stroll through Desert Botanical Garden's Las Noches de las Luminarias. A Phoenix tradition, this year’s "Lumi" is highlighted by the new “Chihuly: The Nature of Glass” exhibit...
Share this:
We’ve become increasingly romantic this holiday season, whether gazing at birds on a wire or contemplating the winter sunsets or anticipating a seasonal stroll through Desert Botanical Garden's Las Noches de las Luminarias. A Phoenix tradition, this year’s "Lumi" is highlighted by the new “Chihuly: The Nature of Glass” exhibit. Prolific and controversial, American artist Dale Chihuly, now 67, creates incomprehensible vessels full of huge podlike tendrils and sunken globes, all with the intensified coloring of blown glass, which will glitter by the light of 7,000 twinkling luminarias. Also on tap are warm beverages and live Spanish, swing, native, and blues music.
Fri., Nov. 28, 5:30-9:30 p.m.; Sat., Nov. 29, 5:30-9:30 p.m.; Sun., Nov. 30, 5:30-9:30 p.m.; Thu., Dec. 4, 5:30-9:30 p.m.; Fri., Dec. 5, 5:30-9:30 p.m.; Sat., Dec. 6, 5:30-9:30 p.m.; Sun., Dec. 7, 5:30-9:30 p.m.; Thu., Dec. 11, 5:30-9:30 p.m.; Fri., Dec. 12, 5:30-9:30 p.m.; Sat., Dec. 13, 5:30-9:30 p.m.; Sun., Dec. 14, 5:30-9:30 p.m.; Tue., Dec. 16, 5:30-9:30 p.m.; Wed., Dec. 17, 5:30-9:30 p.m.; Thu., Dec. 18, 5:30-9:30 p.m.; Fri., Dec. 19, 5:30-9:30 p.m.; Sat., Dec. 20, 5:30-9:30 p.m.; Sun., Dec. 21, 5:30-9:30 p.m.; Mon., Dec. 22, 5:30-9:30 p.m.; Tue., Dec. 23, 5:30-9:30 p.m., 2008
BEFORE YOU GO...
Can you help us continue to share our stories? Since the beginning, Phoenix New Times has been defined as the free, independent voice of Phoenix — and we'd like to keep it that way. Our members allow us to continue offering readers access to our incisive coverage of local news, food, and culture with no paywalls.