Events

English Rose

The Secret Garden, a musical inspired by Frances Hodgson Burnett's Edwardian novel, features uptight Brits opening up like neglected flowers. Despite how pleasant that sounds, don’t show up at Arizona Broadway Theatre expecting a staging of Nancy Friday’s compilation of women’s sexual fantasies, My Secret Garden -- you’ll be disappointed, perhaps in more ways than one.

What won’t disappoint is the Tony-winning libretto. And though it features skilled child actors playing the pivotal child characters, this Garden has plenty of adult pros in a cast of dozens, will entertain the whole family, and promotes the hipster/foodie/apocalyptic value of caring for plants in the fresh air. For reals.

Prices vary with availability but start at $41 to $65 at www.azbroadway.org or 623-776-8400. On Thursday, April 24, optional meals begin at noon and 5:30 p.m., with showtimes following at 2 and 7:30, at 7701 West Paradise Lane in Peoria; performances continue through Sunday, May 11.


Wed., April 16, 5:30 p.m.; Thu., April 17, 5:30 p.m.; Fri., April 18, 5:30 p.m.; Sat., April 19, 12 & 5:30 p.m.; Sun., April 20, noon; Tue., April 22, 5:30 p.m.; Wed., April 23, 5:30 p.m.; Thu., April 24, 12 & 5:30 p.m.; Fri., April 25, 5:30 p.m.; Sat., April 26, 12 & 5:30 p.m.; Sun., April 27, 12 & 5:30 p.m.; Tue., April 29, 5:30 p.m.; Wed., April 30, 5:30 p.m.; Thu., May 1, 12 & 5:30 p.m.; Fri., May 2, 5:30 p.m.; Sat., May 3, 12 & 5:30 p.m.; Sun., May 4, noon; Tue., May 6, 5:30 p.m.; Wed., May 7, 5:30 p.m.; Thu., May 8, 5:30 p.m.; Fri., May 9, 5:30 p.m.; Sat., May 10, 12 & 5:30 p.m.; Sun., May 11, 12 & 5:30 p.m., 2014
KEEP PHOENIX NEW TIMES FREE... Since we started Phoenix New Times, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of Phoenix, and we'd like to keep it that way. With local media under siege, it's more important than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" program, allowing us to keep offering readers access to our incisive coverage of local news, food and culture with no paywalls.
Julie has written for the Night & Day events calendar section since 2005. As a student at Arizona State, she received the Glendon and Kathryn Swarthout Creative Writing Award and the Theatre Medallion of Merit.
Contact: Julie Peterson