Federal Spice Ban Not Yet in Effect, Says DEA

Contrary to the announcement made last November that five chemicals commonly used in spice would be temporarily banned by December 24, the United States Drug Enforcement Administration is now stating that the ban is not in effect.

DEA spokesperson Barbara Carreno told media that the emergency ban had to be revised because of "administrative errors," and that they're "still writing the regulations."

Carreno added that the DEA must give the public 30 days notice on substances they intend to ban, but that doesn't mean the substances automatically become illegal 30 days after the DEA issues a notice.

In order for the federal emergency ban to take effect, a final notice must be published in the DEA's federal register. As of this writing, no final notice has been published, which means the chemicals in the DEA's proposed ban are still federally unregulated.

Some states, however, are taking to steps to ban spice chemicals on their own. Among the states currently considered bills that would ban spice chemicals are Indiana, Minnesota, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, and Arizona. As we reported last month, Arizona's House Bill 2167 would ban ten chemicals commonly used in spice. The bill passed the House Judiciary Committee and is headed to the Senate.

We use cookies to collect and analyze information on site performance and usage, and to enhance and customize content and advertisements. By clicking 'X' or continuing to use the site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. To find out more, visit our cookies policy and our privacy policy.


All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >