Events

Fighting Chance

When dealing with thickheaded folks who spout that the Valley has no history or traditions to speak of, we find inviting them to our favorite places and events around town is slightly more effective than socking them in the face.

Thankfully, Las Noches de las Luminarias, now in its 30th year, gets us in the mood to invite rather than fight.

The Desert Botanical Garden already inspires a sense of tranquility and the soft illumination of luminarias, the candle-powered paper-bag lanterns, further enables us to get lost in the joy of the holidays. Expect nightly music from folks like the Dickens Carolers, the Bad Cactus Brass Band, and the Chris Burton Jacome Trio.


Thu., Dec. 16, 5:30-9:30 p.m.; Fri., Dec. 17, 5:30-9:30 p.m.; Sat., Dec. 18, 5:30-9:30 p.m.; Sun., Dec. 19, 5:30-9:30 p.m.; Mon., Dec. 20, 5:30-9:30 p.m.; Tue., Dec. 21, 5:30-9:30 p.m.; Wed., Dec. 22, 5:30-9:30 p.m.; Sun., Dec. 26, 5:30-9:30 p.m.; Mon., Dec. 27, 5:30-9:30 p.m.; Tue., Dec. 28, 5:30-9:30 p.m.; Wed., Dec. 29, 5:30-9:30 p.m.; Thu., Dec. 30, 5:30-9:30 p.m., 2010
KEEP PHOENIX NEW TIMES FREE... Since we started Phoenix New Times, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of Phoenix, and we'd like to keep it that way. With local media under siege, it's more important than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" program, allowing us to keep offering readers access to our incisive coverage of local news, food and culture with no paywalls.
Jose Gonzalez