Events

Lit Up

Actors Theatre embraces the leisurely, peripatetic nature of Phoenix summer with two comedies in rep: faux-British, faux-roaring-’20s farce The Cottage, opening Friday, June 27, and Karen Zacarias’ The Book Club Play, alternating with it through Sunday, August 17.

Not just another way to use that cheese platter prop, Zacarias’ contemporary comedy witnesses a group of varyingly committed yuppie-ish readers digesting and discussing such gems as Presumed Innocent, The Da Vinci Code, and The Age of Innocence, as well as a new member, a single academic who might be as hot as he is obnoxious. (Pssst -- they never are.) Meanwhile, a filmmaker documents the phenomenon, and there are characters named “Former Secret Service Agent for Jimmy Carter” and “Shark Bite Survivor.” What’s not to like?

The show opens 7 p.m. Saturday, June 21, at 1333 East Washington Street. Tickets are $18 to $45 at 602-888-0368 or www.actorstheatrephx.org.


Fri., June 20, 7 p.m.; Sat., June 21, 7 p.m.; Sun., June 22, 2 p.m.; Sat., July 5, 7 p.m.; Sun., July 6, 2 p.m.; Thu., July 17, 7 p.m.; Fri., July 18, 7 p.m.; Sat., July 19, 7 p.m.; Sun., July 20, 2 p.m.; Thu., July 31, 7 p.m.; Fri., Aug. 1, 7 p.m.; Sat., Aug. 2, 8 p.m.; Sun., Aug. 3, 2 p.m.; Thu., Aug. 14, 7 p.m.; Fri., Aug. 15, 7 p.m.; Sat., Aug. 16, 7 p.m.; Sun., Aug. 17, 2 p.m., 2014
KEEP PHOENIX NEW TIMES FREE... Since we started Phoenix New Times, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of Phoenix, and we'd like to keep it that way. With local media under siege, it's more important than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" program, allowing us to keep offering readers access to our incisive coverage of local news, food and culture with no paywalls.
Julie has written for the Night & Day events calendar section since 2005. As a student at Arizona State, she received the Glendon and Kathryn Swarthout Creative Writing Award and the Theatre Medallion of Merit.
Contact: Julie Peterson