Events

Purlie Jam

R. C. Davis is the given name of a renowned American actor, writer, and activist. An inattentive county clerk (or family affection) morphed the baby's name into Ossie. It didn't seem to harm Ossie Davis any, evidenced by his Broadway career and memorable roles in everything from Car 54, Where Are You? to the 1963 March on Washington, Do the Right Thing, Bubba Ho-Tep, and The L Word (as Jennifer Beals' dad).

Early on, Davis penned Purlie Victorious, about a traveling preacher who returns to his small Georgia hometown to save the church, claim a family inheritance, and liberate the fieldhands and their families oppressed by Jim Crow legislation and stupid, cruel buttheads. The play became a Tony-winning musical, Purlie, presented by Black Theatre Troupe through Sunday, May 18, at 1333 East Washington Street. Tickets to the 8 p.m. show Friday, May 2, are $35; call 602-258-8129 or visit www.blacktheatretroupe.org/purlie.


Fri., May 2, 8 p.m.; Sat., May 3, 8 p.m.; Sun., May 4, 3 p.m.; Thu., May 8, 2 p.m.; Fri., May 9, 8 p.m.; Sat., May 10, 8 p.m.; Sun., May 11, 3 p.m.; Thu., May 15, 2 p.m.; Fri., May 16, 8 p.m.; Sat., May 17, 2 & 8 p.m.; Sun., May 18, 3 p.m., 2014
KEEP PHOENIX NEW TIMES FREE... Since we started Phoenix New Times, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of Phoenix, and we'd like to keep it that way. With local media under siege, it's more important than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" program, allowing us to keep offering readers access to our incisive coverage of local news, food and culture with no paywalls.
Julie has written for the Night & Day events calendar section since 2005. As a student at Arizona State, she received the Glendon and Kathryn Swarthout Creative Writing Award and the Theatre Medallion of Merit.
Contact: Julie Peterson