Events

Rain on the Hoof

Ten years ago, Cirque du Soleil's Normand Latourelle formed his own production, Cavalia, adding spirited equestrian performance to the foofy acrobat equation. This year, it's Cavalia Odysseo, with a stage the size of 1.5 hockey rinks and an 80,000-gallon lake under a 10-story tent that has more technical capacity than any theater.

Why a lake? Well, it looks way cool in the videos. The horses (up to 32 at once) have beaucoup room to run, and the huge LED backdrop makes you feel you're really in the forest with druids or on the desert with nomads, etc. We were disappointed to learn that the carousel dropping from the sky has the usual fake steeds on it -- but hey, would you get on that thing?
Fri., Jan. 25, 7:30 p.m.; Sat., Jan. 26, 2 & 8 p.m.; Sun., Jan. 27, 2 p.m.; Tue., Jan. 29, 7:30 p.m.; Wed., Jan. 30, 7:30 p.m.; Sat., Feb. 2, 2 & 8 p.m.; Sun., Feb. 3, 2 p.m.; Tue., Feb. 5, 7:30 p.m.; Thu., Feb. 7, 7:30 p.m.; Sat., Feb. 9, 2 & 8 p.m.; Sun., Feb. 10, 2 p.m., 2013

KEEP PHOENIX NEW TIMES FREE... Since we started Phoenix New Times, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of Phoenix, and we'd like to keep it that way. With local media under siege, it's more important than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" program, allowing us to keep offering readers access to our incisive coverage of local news, food and culture with no paywalls.
Julie has written for the Night & Day events calendar section since 2005. As a student at Arizona State, she received the Glendon and Kathryn Swarthout Creative Writing Award and the Theatre Medallion of Merit.
Contact: Julie Peterson