Events

Spam-A-Lot

How into theater are you? We dare you to spring for the value-packed VIP pass to Phoenix Theatre's 15th annual Hormel New Works Festival. You won't merely get admission to four star-studded staged readings and An Evening of Short Plays and the results of the legendary and incredible 24-Hour Theatre Project -- you'll also enjoy crazy insider access to parties and other cool stuff, like first and second draft table reads of the headlining plays.

The pass is only $75, or $50 for students. In this weather, it may actually be cheaper than staying home. Individual public event tickets and staged reading packages are available, as well, and the fest will showcase two more plays in free "sit-down reads" on Saturday, July 14, and Saturday, July 21.

VIP events start with the kickoff table read, for Monte Merrick's contemporary love-and-war story First Casualty, at 5:30 p.m. Sunday, July 8.


Sun., July 8, 5:30 p.m.; Mon., July 9, 5:30 p.m.; Thu., July 12, 7:30 p.m.; Fri., July 13, 7:30 p.m.; Sat., July 14, 2 p.m.; Sun., July 15, 5:30 p.m.; Mon., July 16, 5:30 p.m.; Thu., July 19, 7:30 p.m.; Fri., July 20, 4:30 p.m.; Sat., July 21, 2 p.m.; Sun., July 22, 6 p.m., 2012
KEEP PHOENIX NEW TIMES FREE... Since we started Phoenix New Times, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of Phoenix, and we'd like to keep it that way. With local media under siege, it's more important than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" program, allowing us to keep offering readers access to our incisive coverage of local news, food and culture with no paywalls.
Julie has written for the Night & Day events calendar section since 2005. As a student at Arizona State, she received the Glendon and Kathryn Swarthout Creative Writing Award and the Theatre Medallion of Merit.
Contact: Julie Peterson