Events

The Amazing Race

It may have lesbians, dance breaks and Johanna Carlisle, but what’s really got people talking about Stray Cat Theatre’s production of Learn to Be Latina is its disclaimer. No one under 17, it seems, will be allowed to see Enrique Urueta’s show biz send-up unless accompanied by an adult.

What, besides a handful of “fucks” and some randy racial slurs, can the reason for such strict restrictions be? One thing we can be sure of: Artistic director Ron May’s version of this dark comedy won’t be your grandmother’s take on racial stereotyping in the pop music industry. The show follows the story of a young Lebanese girl who must pretend to be a Latina in order to cut a pop record.


Fri., Dec. 3, 8 p.m.; Sat., Dec. 4, 8 p.m.; Sun., Dec. 5, 2 p.m.; Thu., Dec. 9, 8 p.m.; Fri., Dec. 10, 8 p.m.; Sat., Dec. 11, 8 p.m.; Sun., Dec. 12, 2 p.m.; Thu., Dec. 16, 8 p.m.; Fri., Dec. 17, 8 p.m.; Sat., Dec. 18, 8 p.m., 2010
KEEP PHOENIX NEW TIMES FREE... Since we started Phoenix New Times, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of Phoenix, and we'd like to keep it that way. With local media under siege, it's more important than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" program, allowing us to keep offering readers access to our incisive coverage of local news, food and culture with no paywalls.
Robrt L. Pela has been a weekly contributor to Phoenix New Times since 1991, primarily as a cultural critic. His radio essays air on National Public Radio affiliate KJZZ's Morning Edition.
Contact: Robrt L. Pela