The Nominees for the 2012 Governor's Arts Awards

The 2012 Governor's Arts Awards will celebrate 31 years in March by recognizing creatives who have achieved and contributed to the Arizona arts community. 

The awards, presented by Arizona Citizens for the Arts, the Arizona Commission on the Arts and the Office of the Governor of Arizona, are given annually to artists, educators, business, communities, and individuals throughout Arizona. 

We're talking creatives (and creative things) including the Arizona School for the Arts, Dr. J. Eugene Grigsby, The Rise Project, Ed Mell, New Carpa Theater Company, and William LeGoullon, to name a few.   

Winners will be announced during Governor's Arts Awards, Tuesday, March 27, 2102 at the Herberger Theater in Phoenix. Tickets can be purchased online.

Check out a full list of the nominations after the jump ... 


Charles Bruffy, Phoenix 
Warren Cohen, Cave Creek 
Bobb Cooper, Phoenix 
James L. Covarrubias, Tempe 
Persephone Dimson, Scottsdale 
Lawrence Enyart, Phoenix 
Dr. J. Eugene Grigsby, Phoenix 
Kristine Kollasch, Phoenix 
William LeGoullon, Scottsale 
Gertrude Lopez, Tucson 
Patsy Lowry, Paradise Valey 
John Massaro, Phoenix 
Ed Mell, Phoenix 
Antonio Pasos, Phoenix 
Brad Richter, Tucson 
Jared Sakren, Scottsdale 
Sydne Heather Schinkel, Scottsdale
Louise Stidham, Gilbert 
Mathew Wiener, Phoenix 

Arts in Education - Individual 
Linda Ahearn, Tucson 
Annica Benning, Scottsdale 
Mariana Carreras, Tucson 
William Eaton, Phoenix 
Evelyn Holbrook, Cave Creek 
Janet Klein, Tempe B
eth Lessard, PhD, Tempe 
Barbara Nueske-Perez, Phoenix 
Claude Pensis, Phoenix 
Lesa, Schuur, Avondale 
Debra K. Stevens, Tempe 

Arts in Education - Organization 
Arizona School for the Arts, Phoenix 
Arizona Theatre Company, Phoenix 
EPIK Dance Company, Phoenix 
Grand Canyon Guitar Society, Flagstaff 
Lovena Ohl Foundation, Scottsdale 
Marshall Magnet Elementary School, Flagstaff 
Morristown Elementary School, Morristown 
Phoenix Conservatory of Music 
Prescott College Visual Arts Program 
Scottsdale Artists' School 
Sedona Arts Center 
Sonoran Glass Art Academy, Tucson 
Southwest Shakespeare Company, Mesa 
Superstition Review, Mesa 
The Rise Project, Phoenix 
UA Presents, Tucson 
Walnut Canyon Press, Scottsdale 
West Valley Art Council, Surprise 

Adelante Healthcare, Phoenix 
DMB Associates, Inc., Buckeye 
General Growth Properties, Tucson 
J.P. Morgan CHASE, Phoenix 
Southwest Ambulance, Mesa 

Anthology, Mesa
Arizona Cowboy Poets Gathering, Prescott 
Del E. Webb Center for the Performing Arts, Wickenburg 
Flagstaff City - Coconino County Public Library
KXCI Community Radio, Tucson 
New Carpa Theater Company, 
Phoenix Public Art Program
Phoenix Office of Art & Culture
United Cerebral Palsy of Arizona, Phoenix
University of Arizona Poetry Center, Tucson
Young Arts Arizona, Ltd., Phoenix

Robert Breunig, PhD, Flagstaff 
Carmen de Novais Guerrero, Mesa 
Nancy Di Stefano, Mesa 
Jody Drake, Prescott 
Rebecca Dyer, Mesa 
Linda Essig, Phoenix 
Kathy Hotchner, Scottsdale 
Steve Jennings, Scottsdale 
Colleen Jennings-Roggensack, Tempe 
Dr. Larry Lang, Tucson 
Amanda Kate Marquez, Tucson 
Fletcher McCusker, Tucson 
Bill & Merry Nebeker 
Judy Phillips, Yuma 
Julie Sasse, Tucson
Charles Spillar, Tucson 
Aimee Stewart, Chandler 
Nancy Wolter, Gilbert

Follow Jackalope Ranch on FacebookTwitter, and Pinterest.

We use cookies to collect and analyze information on site performance and usage, and to enhance and customize content and advertisements. By clicking 'X' or continuing to use the site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. To find out more, visit our cookies policy and our privacy policy.


All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >