New Times dominated Arizona Press Club's 1993 writing competition, winning eight of a possible 22 first-place awards. In the competition for honors in specific categories, New Times captured 30 awards, more than any other publication.

Mark Flatten of Tribune Newspapers won the club's Journalist of the Year Award, while Randy Reid of the Phoenix Gazette was named Photographer of the Year. Ann Ryman of the Sun Cities Independent was honored as Community Journalist of the Year.

The winners, who are selected by out-of-state judges, were announced Saturday at the club's 70th annual banquet.

Three New Times staff writers won two firsts each.
Paul Rubin claimed the Don Bolles Award for Investigative Reporting for a piece titled "As Helpless As Children," which exposed abuses by an estate attorney who was later indicted. Rubin also took the top honor for Lifestyle Reporting for "Potter's Field," a story about Maricopa County's cemetery for the indigent.

John Dougherty won the Business and Financial Writing competition for "Charter Runs Aground," his story on the demise of Charter Title Company. Dougherty also won first place in Explanatory Reporting for "Tempe's Shore Thing," which explored that city's efforts to redevelop its Salt River bank.

Dewey Webb captured two firsts, as well, for Short Form Feature Writing and Feature Headlines. (Among the winning headlines: "Lady Sings the Black and Blues," which appeared on a review of the movie What's Love Got to Do With It; and "The Man Who Would Be Queen," on a feature about a gay, socialite publisher.)

Other New Times staffers who claimed first-place prizes were design director Kim Klein (Single Theme Design), managing editor Jeremy Voas (Sports Feature Writing) and contributor Dave McElfresh (Music Criticism). Klein also won two seconds in design (Magazine Cover and Magazine Design), while Voas completed a New Times sweep in Feature Headlines, winning second and third.

New Times staff photographer Timothy Archibald won four awards--seconds in Picture Story and Illustration Photography and thirds in Picture Story and Portrait Photography.

Other multiple award winners were staff writers Amy Silverman (second in General Reporting, second in Crime and Court Reporting), Tom Fitzpatrick (second and third in Sports Column Writing) and Michael Kiefer (second in Religion Writing, third in Lifestyle Reporting).

Staff writer Darrin Hostetler won second place in Long Form Feature Writing, artist John Kleber won second for Black and White Illustration and film critic M. V. Moorhead won second for General Criticism.

Executive editor Michael Lacey placed third in Feature Column Writing, and contributor Serene Dominic (Music Criticism) and former staff writers Dave Walker (Business and Financial Writing) and Philip Martin (General Criticism) also captured thirds.

@hed:New Times Dominates Press Club Competition
@deck:We win too many awards to fit in this headline


@cut:Paul Rubin

@cut:John Dougherty

@cut:Dewey Webb

Tracker: Please note on page proof to have editors double check winners on Monday.

Thanks, Clay.

KEEP PHOENIX NEW TIMES FREE... Since we started Phoenix New Times, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of Phoenix, and we'd like to keep it that way. With local media under siege, it's more important than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" program, allowing us to keep offering readers access to our incisive coverage of local news, food and culture with no paywalls.