Culture News

2012 Governor's Arts Awards Winners

​The annual Arizona Governor's Arts Awards recognizes local artists, organizations, educators, businesses, and individuals for contributions to the local arts and culture scene.

The Arizona Commission on the Arts announced nominations for the 2012 awards in February and celebrated the winners this week.

Awards were given to the following:

Artist: Ed Mell, Phoenix

Arts in Education (individual): Beth Lessard, Ph.D., Tempe

Arts in Education
(organization): Arizona School for the Arts

Business: JP Morgan Chase Bank

Community: Arizona Cowboy Poets Gathering, Prescott

(Two honorees in 2012) Robert Breunig, Museum of Northern Arizona, and Colleen Jennings-Roggensack, Executive Director for ASU Gammage and Assistant Vice President for Cultural Affairs.

Follow Jackalope Ranch on Facebook and Twitter and Pinterest.