Culture News

2015 Arizona Governor's Arts Awards Nominees Announced

Nominees were announced this week for the 34th Arizona Governor's Arts Awards.

A total of 65 individuals and businesses who have made a major and statewide impact on the arts and culture will be considered for the awards, presented by Arizona Citizens for the Arts, the Arizona Commission on the Arts, and the office of Governor Doug Ducey.

And the nominees are . . .

See also: PhotoTapas 2015 Events Aim to Enrich Metro Phoenix's Photography Community

Artist: Bobb Cooper, Phoenix Navya Dasari, Scottsdale William Eaton, Sedona Barclay Goldsmith, Tucson Peter Hill, Fountain Hills Dr. Jeffry Jahn, Tucson Greg Joseph, Sun City Simon Kregar, Tucson Annie Lopez, Phoenix Mark McDowell, Scottsdale Dr. Baruch Meir, Phoenix Jenna Raskin Moreines, Phoenix Randy Murray, Phoenix Michelle Rouch, Vail Eric Schoen, Phoenix

Arts in Education - Individual: Megan Dallas, Youngtown Esmeralda DeLaney, Phoenix Dr. Carole Drachler, Phoenix Diane Fournier, Phoenix Sharon Seder Meko, Mesa Lee Anne Park, Scottsdale Susan C. Ramos, Coolidge Dr. Margaret E. Schmidt, Tempe Jerry Schutte, Tempe David Simmons, Peoria

Arts In Education - Organization: Live Theatre Workshop, Tucson Arizona Broadway Theatre, Peoria Arizona Thespians, Avondale Arts Express, Tucson Ballet Etudes, Gilbert Childsplay's EYEPlay Program, Tempe Musical Instrument Museum, Phoenix Phoenix Children's Chorus, Phoenix Phoenix Conservatory of Music, Phoenix Prescott College Art Gallery at Sam Hill Warehouse, Prescott 'Tis Art Center & Gallery, Prescott; VSA Tucson, Tucson WHAM Art Association, Surprise Wickenburg Children's Cultural Organization, Wickenburg

Business: Arts Intersection, Gilbert Copper Point Mutual, Phoenix Crescent Crown Distributing, Mesa.

Community: Banner Alzheimer's Institute, Phoenix Flagstaff Arts Council, Flagstaff Ghostlight Theater, Sun City West Orchestra Northern Arizona, Flagstaff Phoenix Center for the Arts, Phoenix Potter's Hand Productions, Sedona Release the Fear, Phoenix Safos Dance Theatre, Tucson Theater Works / Peoria Center for the Performing Arts, Peoria West Valley Art Council's Gallery 37 Program, Surprise West Valley Pops Band, Sun City Young Arts Arizona Ltd., Phoenix.

Individual: Bear Frazer, Phoenix Laurie and Chuck Goldstein, Paradise Valley Carmen Guerrero, Mesa JA Jance, Tucson I. Michael Kasser, Tucson Robert Machiz, Scottsdale Hope Ozer, Paradise Valley Susan Silverman, Phoenix Mollie Trivers, Phoenix Dominique van de Stadt, Paradise Valley.

Winners will be determined by an independent panel and announced at a Tuesday, March 24, event at the Sheraton Downtown Phoenix. Tickets are $150 for Arizona Citizens for the Arts members and $200 for nonmembers. For more information, visit

Follow Jackalope Ranch on Facebook, Twitter, and Pinterest.