Texas Psychedelic Rockers The Young Live Free on Dub Egg

See also: The Young @ Yucca Tap Room

The Young (Texas foursome guitarist/vocalist Hans Zimmerman, bassist John Costanzo, guitarist Kyle Edwards, and drummer Ryan Maloney) sneaked into underground pop consciousness with their stunning 2010 release, Voyagers of Legend (Mexican Summer), a breathless burst psychedelia that referenced The Replacements as much as the 13th Floor Elevators.

The band's new record finds them at home on one of indie rock's most respected labels, Matador, with a loose, cranked up slice of distorted Americana, Dub Egg.