Restaurant News

Here's Who's Been Nominated for the 2013 Arizona Culinary Hall of Fame

For over 20 years, the Scottsdale Culinary Festival and the Scottsdale League for the Arts have been presenting the Arizona Culinary Hall of Fame awards, where the best chefs, restaurateurs, and beverage masters in the state have secured a place in culinary history.

See also: - Chef Kevin Binkley a Finalist for James Beard Award - Crudo Chef Cullen Campbell Invited to Cook at the James Beard House

This year, the Arizona Culinary Hall of Fame is ready to do it again by announcing its 2013 nominees. And this time, there's been a couple of updates.

For 2013, the Arizona Culinary Hall of Fame's nomination and voting body has been expanded to include peers, chefs, mixologists, organization leaders, board members, food critics, and those with a pulse on the food and beverage industry (think organizations like the American Culinary Federation Chefs Association of Arizona and the U.S. Bartenders Guild -- Phoenix Chapter).

Here are the 2013 nominees:

Chef of the Year "The chef presenting the most breakthrough menu while offering outstanding execution across the board." - Matt Carter (The House Brasserie) - Bernie Kantak (Citizen Public House) - Cullen Campbell (Crudo)

Restaurateur of the Year "The restaurateur that exhibited exceptional operations, expansion (if applicable), and community development." - Craig DeMarco & Lauren Bailey (Upward Projects) - Sam Fox (Fox Restaurant Concepts) - Pavle Milic & Charleen Badman (FnB Restaurant, AZ Wine Merchants, Bodega)

Beverage Master of the Year "The mixologist, beverage director or sommelier that exhibited outstanding leadership behind the bar or in the wine cellar." - Jason Asher (Young's Market Co.) - Kim Haasarud (Liquid Architecture, Arizona Cocktail Week) - Micah Olson (Bar Crudo) - Richie Moe (Citizen Public House)

Lifetime Achievement "The person who has exhibited long-term excellence in the Arizona culinary industry." - Kevin Binkley - Robert McGrath - Christopher Gross - Howard Seftel

Winners will be announced Friday, April 5, in advance of the Scottsdale Culinary Festival. The award presentation will take place at 2:30 p.m. at the Great Arizona Picnic, Saturday, April 13, inside the Epicurean Expo. Winners receive a trophy and $500 to be donated to the charitable organization of their choosing.

Follow Chow Bella on Facebook and Twitter and Pinterest.

KEEP PHOENIX NEW TIMES FREE... Since we started Phoenix New Times, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of Phoenix, and we'd like to keep it that way. With local media under siege, it's more important than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" program, allowing us to keep offering readers access to our incisive coverage of local news, food and culture with no paywalls.
Laura Hahnefeld
Contact: Laura Hahnefeld