Music News

40 Watt Sun Debuts New Song, "This Alone," on Brooklyn Vegan

UK doom metal band 40 Watt Sun's new album, The Inside Room, won't be released stateside on Metal Blade Records until July 19, but it's already hotly anticipated by fans of both 40 Watt Sun and their singer Patrick Walker, former front man of Warning.

The Inside Room boasts five tracks, each an audio adventure in down-tempo despair, both lyrically and musically. The shortest of the songs, "Between Times," clocks in at just under seven minutes (the longest, "Restless," is 10:46). The EP as a whole brims with distorted guitars, introspective lyrics, and melancholy melodies.

For those who can't wait until the official album release, Brooklyn Vegan is currently hosting a premiere for 40 Watt's song, "This Alone." Check it out here

KEEP PHOENIX NEW TIMES FREE... Since we started Phoenix New Times, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of Phoenix, and we'd like to keep it that way. With local media under siege, it's more important than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" program, allowing us to keep offering readers access to our incisive coverage of local news, food and culture with no paywalls.
Niki D'Andrea has covered subjects including drug culture, women's basketball, pirate radio stations, Scottsdale staycations, and fine wine. She has worked at both New Times and Phoenix Magazine, and is now a freelancer.
Contact: Niki D'Andrea

Latest Stories