Jeff Beck: Emotion & Commotion

What the critics are saying:

Chicago Tribune: "New Age Beck? It's something like that. In emulating great vocalists he has admired, from Jeff Buckley to Judy Garland, the guitarist conjures a serene lyricism. Female vocalists drawn from the worlds of opera (Olivia Safe), swing (Imelda May) and soul (Joss Stone) provide window-dressing, and the symphony orchestra accompaniment is gratuitous. This is mostly a study in melody and melancholy, with Beck's plaintive tone at its best on the complicated romanticism of "Lilac Wine," the hymn-like "Corpus Christi Carol" and the sighing "Elegy for Dunkirk." On these tracks, the guitarist articulates and then savors each note as if it were his last."

Resale Concert Tickets

Powered By
powered by Seats For Everyone SEE MORE

  • Thursday, Nov. 14, 2019 / 7:00pm @ Marquee Theatre - AZ 730 N. Mill Avenue Tempe AZ 85281
    730 N. Mill Avenue, Tempe AZ 85281

  • Thursday, Nov. 14, 2019 / 8:00pm @ The Crescent Ballroom - Phoenix 308 N. 2nd Avenue Phoenix AZ 85003
    308 N. 2nd Avenue, Phoenix AZ 85003

  • Friday, Nov. 15, 2019 / 6:00pm @ Marquee Theatre - AZ 730 N. Mill Avenue Tempe AZ 85281
    730 N. Mill Avenue, Tempe AZ 85281

Hindustan Times: "This time around, he chooses to interpret classical works, songs from musicals, opera as well as blues covers. So behold pieces like Nessun Dorma, Corpus Christi Carol, Judy Garland's 'Somewhere Over The Rainbow',Screamin Jay Hawins, I Put A Spell On You', with guest vocals by Joss Stone. And even more amazing is the band, on bass is 24-year-old wondergirl, Tal Wilkenfeld, on drums is virtuoso Vinnie Colaiuta and playing keybards is jazzman, Jason Rebello. Expect some Grammies here next year.
Bottom Line: Pure emotion, No commotion, thankfully."

The Independent: "Jeff Beck has to be the most eclectic of the great guitar heroes, rarely restricting himself to a single mode across an entire album, yet without once abandoning the signature touches that enable one to recognise his hand the moment it strays across the strings. Here, his muse wanders between classical and R&B, standards and early music, with just the whizz-bang stunt-guitar flourishes of "Hammerhead" representing his trademark muscular fusion-metal riffing. There's a guitar-and-strings version of the "Corpus Christi Carol", inspired by Jeff Buckley's interpretation, Beck's subtle control of tone, volume and sustain characteristics quietly accumulating emotional momentum."

Blogcritics: "Beck's solos just have this way of cutting through air like so many shards of shattering glass. The best part about them though, is the way they always leave you salivating for more. The first thing you notice about the new Emotion & Commotion is that these same type of short, staccato blasts are somewhat less prevalent. But when they do come, they deliver exactly the same dizzying effect of literally knocking you on your tush, only to pick yourself up off the ground to ask, "thank you sir, may I have another?"

Emotion & Commotion is out now via ATCO Records (a subdivision of Rhino Entertainment).

We use cookies to collect and analyze information on site performance and usage, and to enhance and customize content and advertisements. By clicking 'X' or continuing to use the site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. To find out more, visit our cookies policy and our privacy policy.


All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >