Music News

Just Announced: Miley Cyrus, Bo Bice, Juvenile

I've never been sure why there isn't more of a rivalry between Taylor Swift and Miley Cyrus, but, aside from some boy drama, the two country-tinged pop princesses seem to co-exist happily.If you missed Swift's excellent show at Jobing.com Arena last month, you'll have a chance to check out what I can only imagine will be a much, much shoddier performance by Billy Ray's spawn in September.

A pretty poor substitute if you ask me, but still one of the more interesting shows in this week's slate of announcements.


Miley Cyrus: Friday, Sept. 25, 7 p.m., $39.50-$79.50. Jobing.com Arena, 9400 W. Maryland Ave., Glendale, 623-772-3200.

Arizona Fall Frenzy 2009: With Rob Thomas, Jason Mraz, The B-52s, Gavin Rossdale, & Colbie Caillat (on Sept. 18); Blink 182, Fall Out Boy, Slightly Stoopid, & Pepper (on Sept. 19); & Social Distortion, Flogging Molly, Ben Harper and Relentless 7, The Bravery, The Airborne Toxic Event, & Carolina Liar (on Sept. 20), Friday, Sept. 18, 5 p.m.; Saturday, Sept. 19, 1 p.m.; Sunday, Sept. 20, 1 p.m., $55-$60. Tempe Beach Park, 54 W. Rio Salado Pkwy., Tempe, 480-350-8625.

Asleep at the Wheel: Saturday, Jan. 30, 7:30 p.m., $36-$46. Higley Center for the Performing Arts, 4132 E. Pecos Rd., Higley, 480-279-7190.

August Burns Red: With Blessthefall, Enter Shikari, & Iwrestledabearonce, Sunday, July 26, 6 p.m., $15. Venue of Scottsdale, 7117 E. 3rd Ave., Scottsdale, 480-945-5150.

Bo Bice: Saturday, Oct. 17, 8 p.m., $28-$36. Higley Center for the Performing Arts, 4132 E. Pecos Rd., Higley, 480-279-7190.

The Fremonts: Saturday, Aug. 1, 8 p.m., $7. Rhythm Room, 1019 E. Indian School Rd., Phoenix, 602-265-4842.

Igor and the Red Elvises: Sunday, Sept. 27, 8 p.m., $10. [edit secondary] Sunday, Sept. 27, 8 p.m., $10. Rhythm Room, 1019 E. Indian School Rd., Phoenix, 602-265-4842.

Juvenile: Friday, June 26, 8:30 p.m., $25-$50. Venue of Scottsdale, 7117 E. 3rd Ave., Scottsdale, 480-945-5150.

Lisa Lampanelli: Saturday, Aug. 15, 8 p.m., $42.75. Dodge Theatre, 400 W. Washington St., Phoenix, 602-379-2800.

Never Shout Never: With The Ready Set, Monday, June 29, 7 p.m., $12. The Clubhouse Music Venue, 1320 E. Broadway Rd., Tempe, 480-968-3238.

Owl City: With The Scene Aesthetic, & Brooke Waggoner, Saturday, Oct. 24, 7:30 p.m., $13-$15. Modified Arts, 407 E. Roosevelt St., Phoenix, 602-462-5516.

Papermoons: Tuesday, Aug. 4, 7 p.m., $8. Modified Arts, 407 E. Roosevelt St., Phoenix, 602-462-5516.

Sommore: Friday, July 31, 8 p.m., $43-$300. Celebrity Theatre, 440 N. 32nd St., Phoenix, 602-267-1600.

Telefon Tel Aviv: With The Race, Thursday, Sept. 24, 7:30 p.m., $10. Rhythm Room, 1019 E. Indian School Rd., Phoenix, 602-265-4842.

Jimmy Thackery: Wednesday, Oct. 21, 8 p.m., $13. Rhythm Room, 1019 E. Indian School Rd., Phoenix, 602-265-4842.

Walter Trout: Wednesday, July 29, 7 p.m., $20. Rhythm Room, 1019 E. Indian School Rd., Phoenix, 602-265-4842.

Wisin y Yandel: Friday, Oct. 16, 8 p.m. Jobing.com Arena, 9400 W. Maryland Ave., Glendale, 623-772-3200.

KEEP PHOENIX NEW TIMES FREE... Since we started Phoenix New Times, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of Phoenix, and we'd like to keep it that way. With local media under siege, it's more important than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" program, allowing us to keep offering readers access to our incisive coverage of local news, food and culture with no paywalls.
Martin Cizmar
Contact: Martin Cizmar