Music News

Major Lazer and La Roux Collaborate on Free Mixtape, "Lazerproof"

What happens when you take noted DJs Switch and Diplo and add British electronic singing sensation Elly Jackson? A free mixtape named Lazerproof, natch. Switch and Diplo, when working together, are better known as dancehall/reggaeton masterminds Major Lazer and Jackson does vocal duties for La Roux, perhaps best known for their hit single "Bulletproof" (hence Lazerproof). The two camps have joined forces for the good of society and complied a mixtape -- pardon me, a free mixtape -- to be released this Wednesday, May 26 via Diplo's Mad Decent label.

Guest spots include Canadian rapping sensation Drake, Amanda Blank, Gucci Mane and Rusko -- proving the wide breadth of both Switch and Diplo's appeal. The two have made a career of joining forces of dubstep, hip hop and electronic music -- now their roster will include British electro-pop with the addition of La Roux' Elly Jackson. Jackson/La Roux's influence, as evidenced by the trackist below, will be heavily vocal, with most every song being a clever take on a track from La Roux's self-titled debut.

This isn't Diplo's first rodeo: he has collaborated on mixtapes with M.I.A. and Santigold -- both of which were rather warmly received (it's hard to ignore it when a brilliant DJ/producer teams up with a talented vocalist). Diplo's previous works were unbelievably fun, incredibly multifaceted affairs, so Lazerproof has something good already going for it. Oh, did I mention it was free?

Lazerproof will be available this Wednesday, 5/26, via Mad Decent as a free download. For those having problems with the sluggish servers, here is the direct download link. The tracklist is as follows:

01 Bulletproof (Nacey Remix) [ft. Matt Hemerlein] 
02 Colourless Artibella 
03 I'm Not Your Lemonade + Heroes 'N' Villains Remix [ft. Gucci Mane] 
04 Independent Kill [ft. Candi Redd
05 Keep It Fascinating 
06 Magic (Falling Soldiers Dub) 
07 In 4 the Kill Pon De Skream [ft. Drake
08 Houstatlantavegas Pains
09 Tigerlily (DYWHAP Blend) [ft. Rusko] 
10 Can't Stop Now (Armor Love Remix) 
11 Quicksand (Mad Decent 2010 Rerub) [ft. Amanda Blank] 
12 Cover My Eyes (Costra Nostra Edit) 
13 I Said It (Major Lazer Dubplate) [ft. Opal
14 Hold Yuh (Double Dubplate) [ft. Gyptian]

KEEP PHOENIX NEW TIMES FREE... Since we started Phoenix New Times, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of Phoenix, and we'd like to keep it that way. With local media under siege, it's more important than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" program, allowing us to keep offering readers access to our incisive coverage of local news, food and culture with no paywalls.
Michael Lopez