Phoenix Filmmakers' Movie The Heart Is A Drum Machine Gets Soundtrack from Flaming Lip

Keep New Times Free
I Support
  • Local
  • Community
  • Journalism
  • logo

Support the independent voice of Phoenix and help keep the future of New Times free.

Stephen Drozd of The Flaming Lips is releasing a soundtrack to the documentary The Heart Is a Drum Machine which was produced by local filmmakers Ryan Page and Chris Pomerenke.

The film, a documentary which explores why people feel such a connection to music and features cameos by George Clinton, Maynard James Keenan and members of Modest Mouse and Spoon, debuted in 2009 (read our feature on it here) and is now out on DVD.

Drozd's soundtrack will come out on January 18.

The full tracklist and a stream-able version of Tool frontman Maynard James Keenan covering Elton John's "Rocket Man" are below

The Heart Is A Drum Machine - Maynard James Keenan - Rocket Man

1 Born

2 A Flood of Light

3 Quaalude Youth

4 Bad Mood Rising/Dimensionless

5 Rocket Man [ft. Maynard James Keenan]

6 Requiem for a Dying Star/Ode to a Twinkling New...

7 Last Dose

8 The Great Pleasures (Dedicated to James...)

9 From Forlorn Frequencies

10 After the Mutiny

11 Get On

12 Flowing Home

Keep Phoenix New Times Free... Since we started Phoenix New Times, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of Phoenix, and we would like to keep it that way. Offering our readers free access to incisive coverage of local news, food and culture. Producing stories on everything from political scandals to the hottest new bands, with gutsy reporting, stylish writing, and staffers who've won everything from the Society of Professional Journalists' Sigma Delta Chi feature-writing award to the Casey Medal for Meritorious Journalism. But with local journalism's existence under siege and advertising revenue setbacks having a larger impact, it is important now more than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" membership program, allowing us to keep covering Phoenix with no paywalls.

We use cookies to collect and analyze information on site performance and usage, and to enhance and customize content and advertisements. By clicking 'X' or continuing to use the site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. To find out more, visit our cookies policy and our privacy policy.


Join the New Times community and help support independent local journalism in Phoenix.


Join the New Times community and help support independent local journalism in Phoenix.