Albums Reviews and Streams

The Kills: Blood Pressures

The Kills are kicking off April in fine form, releasing their fourth album Blood Pressures next Tuesday. For those who simply cannot wait another week for some more unbridled, grimy garage rock from Alison Mosshart and Jamie Hince, the band is offering a stream of Blood Pressures via their official website.

Lead single "Satellite" has been kicking around for two months now, a fine beacon of just exactly what's to be expected of Blood Pressures -- Mosshart's fantastic vocals mixed with The Kills' trademark dark, dingy indie rock.

The Kills have a Saturday date at this year's Coachella, followed by a brief tour of North America before wrapping things up in Europe this June. Blood Pressures is bolstered by a blistering opening four-song arc -- "Future Starts Slow," "Satellite," "Heart Is A Beating Drum" and "Nail In My Coffin." The tone set forth by those tracks creates an incredibly unique, cohesive effort by Mosshart and Hince. Throw in the cocky guitar riffs of "DNA" and Blood Pressures becomes a wholly irresistible entity, irrefutably as polished as it is unfairly enjoyable.

Blood Pressures is out April 5 via Domino. Tracklist is as follows:

1. Future Starts Slow
2. Satellite
3. Heart Is A Beating Drum
4. Nail In My Coffin
5. Wild Charms
6. DNA
7. Baby Says
8. The Last Goodbye
9. Damned If She Do
10. You Don't Own The Road
11. Pots And Pans

KEEP PHOENIX NEW TIMES FREE... Since we started Phoenix New Times, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of Phoenix, and we'd like to keep it that way. With local media under siege, it's more important than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" program, allowing us to keep offering readers access to our incisive coverage of local news, food and culture with no paywalls.
Michael Lopez