Andy Tobin Leads Gary Kiehne in CD1, While All Other Congressional Match-Ups Are Settled

The morning after Arizona's primary election, there's still one race to be settled among the state's nine congressional districts.

Former Arizona House Speaker Andy Tobin has a lead of just a couple hundred votes over Gary Kiehne in the battle to take the Republican nomination in Arizona Congressional District 1, which is currently occupied by Democratic Congresswoman Ann Kirkpatrick.

See also: -New Times' Complete Election Coverage

At the time of this post, several news outlets are erroneously reporting that Kiehne is the one maintaining a slight lead in the race, which also includes former state Representative Adam Kwasman.

In fact, the Secretary of State's website currently shows Kiehne with a lead of 226 votes, with votes from 319 of 327 precincts reporting.

Seven of the precincts remaining to be included actually have been counted. Those seven precincts are in Yavapai County, which reported results on this primary at 2:26 a.m. today. Those results were enough to give Tobin the lead, with one precinct in Coconino County left to count.

These results out of Yavapai County are enough to give Tobin a lead of 532 votes, meaning he's the likely winner.

Meanwhile, the races for spots in the other congressional match-ups were settled early last night.

There were only a few contested primaries: Former state Representative Ruben Gallego has defeated Mary Rose Wilcox in Congressional District 7's Democratic primary, to replace retiring Democratic Congressman Ed Pastor. The general election is merely a formality in that very Democrat-heavy district.

Retired Air Force pilot Wendy Rogers beat up on former ASU and NFL quarterback Andrew Walter in the Republican primary in Congressional District 9. Rogers will take on Democratic Congresswoman Kyrsten Sinema in November.

There's going to be a rematch between Democratic Congressman Ron Barber and Republican challenger Martha McSally in Congressional District 2, as McSally dominated her primary opponents.

The full list of Democrats and Republicans in general-election congressional races are listed below:

  • CD1: Andy Tobin* (R) v. Congresswoman Ann Kirkpatrick (D)
  • CD2: Martha McSally (R) v. Congressman Ron Barber (D)
  • CD3: Gabby Saucedo-Mercer (R) v. Congressman Raul Grijalva (D)
  • CD4: Congressman Paul Gosar (R) v. Mike Weisser (D)
  • CD5: Congressman Matt Salmon (R) v. James Woods (D)
  • CD6: Congressman David Schweikert (R) v. John Williamson (D)
  • CD7: Ruben Gallego (D) v. Joe Cobb (L)
  • CD8: Trent Franks (R) (unopposed)
  • CD9: Wendy Rogers v. Congresswoman Kyrsten Sinema (D)

Got a tip? Send it to: Matthew Hendley.

Follow Valley Fever on Twitter at @ValleyFeverPHX. Follow Matthew Hendley at @MatthewHendley.

KEEP PHOENIX NEW TIMES FREE... Since we started Phoenix New Times, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of Phoenix, and we'd like to keep it that way. With local media under siege, it's more important than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" program, allowing us to keep offering readers access to our incisive coverage of local news, food and culture with no paywalls.
Matthew Hendley
Contact: Matthew Hendley