Andy Tobin to Face Ann Kirkpatrick in Congressional Race as Gary Kiehne Concedes

Keep New Times Free
I Support
  • Local
  • Community
  • Journalism
  • logo

Support the independent voice of Phoenix and help keep the future of New Times free.

It took about a week, but the match-ups for all nine of Arizona's congressional races have been decided.

The Republican primary in Congressional District 1 had been too close to call since the primary election last Tuesday, but businessman Gary Kiehne has conceded defeat to Arizona House Speaker Andy Tobin.

See also: -Earlier: Andy Tobin Leads Gary Kiehne in CD1

The two had only been separated by a few hundred votes, as provisional ballots and early ballots cast on the day of the election were still trickling in. State Representative Adam Kwasman had also been involved in the three-way race, but it was clear on the night of the election that he wasn't making the cut. Official election results won't be posted until September 8.

Tobin will face Democratic Congresswoman Ann Kirkpatrick in the general election, and in Kiehne's concession statement, he gave his endorsement to Tobin, saying his "top priority this fall is to see Republicans win here in Arizona." so I want to offer all of my support to our Republican nominee Andy Tobin and all of the other Republican nominees in the general election.

Here was Tobin's reaction on Facebook:

It's taken a while to count the ballots in our race, and it's now clear that we have won the Republican primary! I can't thank you enough for everything you did to get us across the finish line. Your generous contributions of time and energy are what got us here. I also want to thank Adam Kwasman and Gary Kiehne for a spirited and civil contest. I spent the weekend traveling our district, and everywhere I go, I hear from Arizonans of all parties that they are ready for a representative that isn't beholden to Washington, DC or Nancy Pelosi. On to victory in November!

All of the congressional match-ups are now set, and are listed below:

  • CD1: Andy Tobin (R) v. Congresswoman Ann Kirkpatrick (D)
  • CD2: Martha McSally (R) v. Congressman Ron Barber (D)
  • CD3: Gabby Saucedo-Mercer (R) v. Congressman Raul Grijalva (D)
  • CD4: Congressman Paul Gosar (R) v. Mike Weisser (D)
  • CD5: Congressman Matt Salmon (R) v. James Woods (D)
  • CD6: Congressman David Schweikert (R) v. John Williamson (D)
  • CD7: Ruben Gallego (D) v. Joe Cobb (L)
  • CD8: Trent Franks (R) (unopposed)
  • CD9: Wendy Rogers (r) v. Congresswoman Kyrsten Sinema (D)

While a majority of Arizona's congressional races aren't expected to be competitive, the race between Kirkpatrick and Tobin may be. Both the National Republican Congressional Committee and the Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee have begun airing attack ads on TV, and you can see those ads below:

Got a tip? Send it to: Matthew Hendley.

Follow Valley Fever on Twitter at @ValleyFeverPHX. Follow Matthew Hendley at @MatthewHendley.

Keep Phoenix New Times Free... Since we started Phoenix New Times, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of Phoenix, and we would like to keep it that way. Offering our readers free access to incisive coverage of local news, food and culture. Producing stories on everything from political scandals to the hottest new bands, with gutsy reporting, stylish writing, and staffers who've won everything from the Society of Professional Journalists' Sigma Delta Chi feature-writing award to the Casey Medal for Meritorious Journalism. But with local journalism's existence under siege and advertising revenue setbacks having a larger impact, it is important now more than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" membership program, allowing us to keep covering Phoenix with no paywalls.

We use cookies to collect and analyze information on site performance and usage, and to enhance and customize content and advertisements. By clicking 'X' or continuing to use the site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. To find out more, visit our cookies policy and our privacy policy.


Join the New Times community and help support independent local journalism in Phoenix.


Join the New Times community and help support independent local journalism in Phoenix.