Keep New Times Free

Big Brain Awards 2011: Meet the Winners

The results are in, and we're proud to present the recipients of New Times' 2011 Big Brain Awards.

The winners in six categories were announced Saturday, April 10, at New Times' Big Brain reception, and each received $1,000 (per category).

We profiled the finalists last week and will continue to give you sneak peeks into their creative environments for the next few days. Awards and recipients are:


Big Brain Awards

New Times building, 1201 East Jefferson Street

Artopia, an event including live and display art, musical and dance perfomances, food and drink -- and the announcement of the winners of the 2011 Big Brain Awards. Tickets are $10 at the door or at web link.

Visual ArtsSafwat Saleem

Design: Chadwick Uptain

Literary: Kim Porter

Performance: Joseph "Sentrock" Perez

Film/Video: Film Bar

Culinary: Brian and Margita Webb

To read about all 18 finalists, follow the links below:


Kofi O. Okyere
Robbie Pfeffer
Kim Porter

Visual Arts
Sarah Hurwitz
Safwat Saleem

I Support
  • Local
  • Community
  • Journalism
  • logo

Support the independent voice of Phoenix and help keep the future of New Times free.

Chris Rupp
Rebecca Turley
Chadwick Uptain

Renetto-Mario Etsitty
Mario Martusciello
Brian and Margita Webb

Francis Lazaro
Lee Storey

Performing Arts
Ruth Carter
Tom Leveen
Joseph Perez

Keep Phoenix New Times Free... Since we started Phoenix New Times, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of Phoenix, and we would like to keep it that way. Offering our readers free access to incisive coverage of local news, food and culture. Producing stories on everything from political scandals to the hottest new bands, with gutsy reporting, stylish writing, and staffers who've won everything from the Society of Professional Journalists' Sigma Delta Chi feature-writing award to the Casey Medal for Meritorious Journalism. But with local journalism's existence under siege and advertising revenue setbacks having a larger impact, it is important now more than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" membership program, allowing us to keep covering Phoenix with no paywalls.

We use cookies to collect and analyze information on site performance and usage, and to enhance and customize content and advertisements. By clicking 'X' or continuing to use the site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. To find out more, visit our cookies policy and our privacy policy.


Join the New Times community and help support independent local journalism in Phoenix.


Join the New Times community and help support independent local journalism in Phoenix.