Boyd Dunn, Cleve Lynch, Andrew Pacheco, and Rick Romley Recommended as Replacement for Andrew Thomas

A citizens' panel has made its recommendations to the Maricopa County Board of Supervisors on the replacement of former County Attorney Andrew Thomas:

*Boyd Dunn -- Chandler Mayor and divorce lawyer.

*Cleve Lynch -- a deputy county attorney.

*Andrew Pacheco -- lawyer and former organized crime prosecutor for the U.S. Attorney's Office.

*Rick Romley -- former longtime Maricopa County Attorney.

Whoever the Supes choose will hold the position until November, when voters will get the more final say.

We're not taking bets, though we can't help but wonder if it'll be Boyd Dunn, since he appears to have been courted the most by the supes.

Dunn also has the money and political juice to launch a robust campaign for the upcoming election season, whereas Pacheco and Lynch may not be as likely to succeed in retaining the temporary seat.

On the other hand, we've heard that Romley is the board's favorite. But we wonder whether supes will want to invite the conflict that Romley might bring to the table. Though he'll get along with the supervisors better than Thomas did, Romley's not likely to allow the board to retain control of the county's lucrative and influential civil lawsuit work.

The board is expected to make a decision by tomorrow.

Final Report to BOS From Committee

We use cookies to collect and analyze information on site performance and usage, and to enhance and customize content and advertisements. By clicking 'X' or continuing to use the site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. To find out more, visit our cookies policy and our privacy policy.


All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >