Dems Push Into Corporation Commission; Congressional Incumbents to Retain Seats

By Ray Stern

Two Democrats will add to the mix on the five-member Arizona Corporation Commission, which previously had been an all-Republican affair.

Tuesday's election filled three empty seats on the commission. Sandra Kennedy, a small business owner and former state lawmaker, and Paul Newman (pictured at left), a lawyer and Cochise County Supervisor, appear to have been the top winners with 91 percent of polls counted by 11 p.m. Tuesday. The two Democrats each received 18.1 percent of votes.

UPDATE: The third open seat on the commission is still a toss-up between Democrat Sam George, the consultant formerly known as Sam Vagenas, and Republican Bob Stump. Results updated as of 9:14 this morning on the secretary of state's Web site shows both George and Stump with 16.2 percent of the vote. George has a 651 vote advantage with 99.1 percent of polls reporting.

Arizona's congressional delegation, meanwhile, will hardly change at all. U.S. Representatives Raul Grijalva, Harry Mitchell, Gabrielle Giffords, Trent Franks, John Shadegg, and Ed Pastor all appeared to have won handily by 11 p.m., with most precincts reporting.

The only new face in Congress from Arizona will be Democrat Ann Kirkpatrick (pictured at left), who will serve central and northeastern Arizona. She easily beat Republican Sydney Hay by 55.4 percent to 40 percent. Kirkpatrick replaces disgraced Congressman Rick Renzi, who has been indicted on corruption charges

KEEP PHOENIX NEW TIMES FREE... Since we started Phoenix New Times, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of Phoenix, and we'd like to keep it that way. With local media under siege, it's more important than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" program, allowing us to keep offering readers access to our incisive coverage of local news, food and culture with no paywalls.
Ray Stern has worked as a newspaper reporter in Arizona for more than two decades. He's won numerous awards for his reporting, including the Arizona Press Club's Don Bolles Award for Investigative Journalism.
Contact: Ray Stern