| Arizona |

Here's Who Officially Qualified for a Spot on the Ballot for the 2018 Elections

Keep New Times Free
I Support
  • Local
  • Community
  • Journalism
  • logo

Support the independent voice of Phoenix and help keep the future of New Times free.

Every statewide office and every seat in Congress — plus one hotly contested Senate seat — are up for grabs in Arizona this year. Below, you'll find a list of all the candidates for federal and statewide office who collected enough signatures to earn a spot on the ballot for the August primaries, as well as links to their websites whenever possible.

Looking for candidates for the state Legislature? You can find them here.

U.S. Senate:

Republican Party:
Joe Arpaio
Martha McSally
Kelli Ward

Democratic Party:
Deedra Abboud
Kyrsten Sinema

Congressional District 1

Republican Party:
Tiffany Shedd
Steve Smith
Wendy Rogers

Democratic Party:
Tom O'Halleran

Congressional District 2

Republican Party:
Brandon Martin
Daniel Romero Morales, Jr.
Lea Marquez Peterson
Casey Welch

Democratic Party:
Matt Heinz
Ann Kirkpatrick
Billy Kovacs
Mary Matiella
Barbara Sherry
Bruce Wheeler
Yahya Yuksel

Congressional District 3

Republican Party:
Sergio Arellano
Edna San Miguel
Nick Pierson

Democratic Party:
Raul Grijalva

Congressional District 4

Republican Party:
Paul Gosar

Democratic Party:
David Brill
Delina DiSanto

Green Party:
Haryaksha Gregor Knauer

Congressional District 5

Republican Party:
Andy Biggs

Democratic Party:
Joan Greene
Jose Torres

Congressional District 6

Republican Party:
David Schweikert

Democratic Party:
Anita Malik
Garrick McFadden
Heather Ross

Congressional District 7

Democratic Party:
Ruben Gallego
Catherine Miranda

Congressional District 8

Republican Party:
Sandra Dowling
Debbie Lesko

Democratic Party:
Hiral Tipirneni

Congressional District 9

Republican Party:
Irina Baroness Von Behr
Steve Ferrara
Dave Giles

Democratic Party:
Greg Stanton


Republican Party:
Ken Bennett
Doug Ducey

Democratic Party:
Steve Farley
Kelly Fryer
David Garcia

Secretary of State

Republican Party:
Steve Gaynor
Michele Reagan

Democratic Party:
Katie Hobbs

Attorney General

Republican Party:
Mark Brnovich

Democratic Party:
January Contreras


Republican Party:
Jo Ann Sabbagh
Kimberly Yee

Democratic Party:
Mark Manoil

Superintendent of Public Instruction

Republican Party:
Bob Branch
Diane Douglas
Jonathan Gelbart
Tracy Livingston
Frank Riggs

Democratic Party:
Kathy Hoffman
David Schapira

State Mine Inspector

Republican Party:
Joe Hart

Democratic Party:
Bill Pierce

Corporation Commissioner

Republican Party:
Tom Forese
Rodney Glassman
Jim O'Connor
Justin Olson
Eric Sloan

Democratic Party:
Sandra Kennedy
Bill Mundell
Kiana Sears

Update, June 29th: This post has been updated to reflect the fact that the following candidates have either withdrawn or been removed from the ballot due to signature challenges: Miguel Olivas from Congressional District 1, Josh Reilly from Congressional District 2, Bob Musselwhite and Bob Olsen from Congressional District 8, Talia Fuentes and Seth Leibsohn from Congressional District 9, Doug Marks and Eve Reyes-Aguirre from the Senate race, Kevin McCormack from the governor's race, and Mark Robert Gordon and Leslie Pico from Secretary of State.

Keep Phoenix New Times Free... Since we started Phoenix New Times, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of Phoenix, and we would like to keep it that way. Offering our readers free access to incisive coverage of local news, food and culture. Producing stories on everything from political scandals to the hottest new bands, with gutsy reporting, stylish writing, and staffers who've won everything from the Society of Professional Journalists' Sigma Delta Chi feature-writing award to the Casey Medal for Meritorious Journalism. But with local journalism's existence under siege and advertising revenue setbacks having a larger impact, it is important now more than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" membership program, allowing us to keep covering Phoenix with no paywalls.

We use cookies to collect and analyze information on site performance and usage, and to enhance and customize content and advertisements. By clicking 'X' or continuing to use the site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. To find out more, visit our cookies policy and our privacy policy.


Join the New Times community and help support independent local journalism in Phoenix.


Join the New Times community and help support independent local journalism in Phoenix.