| News |

New Times Writers Earn Honors in National Journalism Competitions

Amy Silverman's obituary of John McCain earned national honors.
Amy Silverman's obituary of John McCain earned national honors.
Randy Pollack
Keep New Times Free
I Support
  • Local
  • Community
  • Journalism
  • logo

Support the independent voice of Phoenix and help keep the future of New Times free.

Two national organizations have honored the work of current and former Phoenix New Times journalists.

The Society of Features Journalism announced on Wednesday that former New Times managing editor Amy Silverman, food critic Chris Malloy,  and longtime contributor Robrt L. Pela were winners in the competition's Division I for news organizations with circulation of less than 90,000.

Silverman won first place in general features for her John McCain obit: "Vintage John McCain." 

Malloy took a second for food feature for his cover story on foraging for native Arizona foods, "A Journey Into the Heart of New Arizonan Cuisine."

Pela placed third in arts and entertainment writing for "Battle of the Ladmo Bag Boys," a profile of two grown men still fighting over the legacy of a long-ago TV kids' program, The Wallace and Ladmo Show.

Previously, New Times learned that two contributors, Sean Holstege and Bill Myers, along with full-time reporter Meg O'Connor, are finalists in the Association of Alternative Newsmedia contest.

Holstege is a finalist for beat coverage for a collection of crime stories he wrote in 2018, including a two-part series, "Circle of Terror," about how a Syrian bomb maker was convicted in Phoenix for IEDs that killed Arizona soldiers in Iraq.

Myers is a finalist for longform writing for "Missing Deadly Signs," his coverage of the Phoenix City Prosecutor’s office decision to release accused abusers who later were charged with murder.

O’Connor, who now works for Phoenix New Times, is a finalist for the investigative reporting award for "Reefer Sadness," about needless arrests of pot smokers in Miami, written while she was a fellow at Miami New Times.

The AAN winners will be announced in September.

Keep Phoenix New Times Free... Since we started Phoenix New Times, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of Phoenix, and we would like to keep it that way. Offering our readers free access to incisive coverage of local news, food and culture. Producing stories on everything from political scandals to the hottest new bands, with gutsy reporting, stylish writing, and staffers who've won everything from the Society of Professional Journalists' Sigma Delta Chi feature-writing award to the Casey Medal for Meritorious Journalism. But with local journalism's existence under siege and advertising revenue setbacks having a larger impact, it is important now more than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" membership program, allowing us to keep covering Phoenix with no paywalls.

We use cookies to collect and analyze information on site performance and usage, and to enhance and customize content and advertisements. By clicking 'X' or continuing to use the site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. To find out more, visit our cookies policy and our privacy policy.


Join the New Times community and help support independent local journalism in Phoenix.


Join the New Times community and help support independent local journalism in Phoenix.