These 70 Artists Were Chosen for the "Arizona Biennial 2018" Exhibition

Kathleen  Drier's 2017 digital photograph Tannikan  and  the  Circus  Campers.
Kathleen Drier's 2017 digital photograph Tannikan and the Circus Campers. Courtesy of Kathleen Drier
Tucson Museum of Art has announced the names of 70 emerging and established artists selected for the "Arizona Biennial 2018" exhibition. The show opens on Thursday, July 5, and continues through Sunday, September 16.

The Arizona Biennial was first organized in 1948. It’s the oldest statewide juried exhibition featuring works by Arizona artists. The guest juror for this year’s show is Rebecca R. Hart, the curator of modern and contemporary art at Denver Art Museum.

Artists submitted more than 1,500 works for consideration, after the Tucson Museum of Art put out an open call in October 2017. Hart chose 84 works in multiple media, including painting, sculpture, works on paper, photography, video, and installation art.

About a third of the artists selected are well-known to those who follow the downtown Phoenix arts scene. They include Laura Spalding Best, Bill Dambrova, Christopher Jagmin, and Denise Yaghmourian.

Some, including Alan Bur Johnson and Anthony Pessler, were part of the "Arizona Biennial 2015" lineup. And several, including Cam DeCaussin and Jessica Palomo, are recent graduates of ASU's School of Art. The biennial skipped a year in 2017 because galleries were closed for museum renovations that summer.

Here’s the rest of the "Arizona Biennial 2018" lineup:

Sama Alshaibi
Jack Balas
Malena Barnhart
Willie Bonner
Kate Breakey
Wade Carter
Barrett Cooney
Joe Cornett
Jeff DaCosta
Swapna Das
Tomas DeMoss
Kathleen Dreier
Olivier Dubois-Cherrier
Karlito Miller Espinosa
Kareem Ferreira
Conor Elliott Fitzgerald
Samantha Frésquez with Merryn Alaka
Jill Friedberg
Daniel Friedman
Hilary L. Garin
Brooke Grucella
Jim Hall
Claire Harlan
Maya Holzman
Marlowe Katoney
YeRin Kim
Kimberly Lyle
Dominique Martinez
Kathryn Maxwell
Ellen McMahon
James Mokler
Katherine Monaghan
Martin Mongan
Nathaneal Myers
Yana Payusova
George C. Peñaloza
Elizabeth Z. Pineda
Mark Pomilio
Don Porcella
Jordan Putt
Robert Renfrow
Emily E. Ritter
Elliott Robbins
Lisa M. Robinson
Luis Salazar
Kathleen Scott
Carrie Seid
Gary Setzer
Jessie Shinn
Kendra Sollars
Papay Solomon
Mike Stack
Alison Sweet
Hirotsune Tashima
The Paradise Boys (Krista Davis and Lily Reeves)
Richard Trible
John Tuomisto-Bell
Rhonda Thomas Urdang
Beth Weinstein
Xinyu Zhang
Angie Zielinski

“Arizona Biennial 2018” runs July 5 to September 16 at Tucson Museum of Art. Museum admission is $12 for adults, $10 for seniors, $7 for students (with college ID) and youth ages 13-17. Children 12 and under are free. The free opening reception takes place from 5 to 8 p.m. on Thursday, July 5. Find more information on the Tucson Museum of Art website.

KEEP PHOENIX NEW TIMES FREE... Since we started Phoenix New Times, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of Phoenix, and we'd like to keep it that way. With local media under siege, it's more important than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" program, allowing us to keep offering readers access to our incisive coverage of local news, food and culture with no paywalls.
Lynn Trimble is an award-winning freelance writer and photographer specializing in arts and culture, including visual and performing arts
Contact: Lynn Trimble