Music News

Download: Toro Y Moi - "Still Sound"

​While December is a time usually reserved for the hordes of formulaic top ten lists, it is also a time for looking ahead to next year's most anticipated releases. South Carolina wiz-kid Chaz Bundick -- better known as Toro Y Moi -- has one of those anticipated releases, his sophomore effort Underneath The Pine. In anticipation of our anticipation of that album, Bundick made the song "Still Sound" available for free download

Usually, I wouldn't dedicate an entire post to a free download of a new song, but "Still Sound" is just too good. There's 70's funk mixed in with Bundick's airy vocals, everything coming to a transcendent head once Bundick layers his vocals over each other, making for a unique stuttering effect. "Still Sound," if I may say so, is a pretty damn good sign of thing to come for Underneath The Pine.

Bundick, upon signing to Carpark Records, had originally intended to release two albums in 2010 -- one electronic and one with live instrumentation. Released this past February, Causers Of This was Bundick's electronic offering, and Underneath The Pine will follow this February. While both albums weren't released in the same calendar year, they follow each other roughly a year apart.

Underneath The Pine will be released February 22 via Carpark Records. Tracklisting is as follows:

1. Intro/Chi Chi
2. New Beat
3. Go with You
4. Divina
5. Before I'm Done
6. Got Blinded
7. How I Know
8. Light Black
9. Still Sound
10. Good Hold
11. Elise

Click on "Still Sound" to download the song, compliments of Spin.
KEEP PHOENIX NEW TIMES FREE... Since we started Phoenix New Times, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of Phoenix, and we'd like to keep it that way. With local media under siege, it's more important than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" program, allowing us to keep offering readers access to our incisive coverage of local news, food and culture with no paywalls.
Michael Lopez