Death Cab's Ben Gibbard, Son Volt's Jay Farrar Team Up For Kerouac Project

Keep New Times Free
I Support
  • Local
  • Community
  • Journalism
  • logo

Support the independent voice of Phoenix and help keep the future of New Times free.

When Death Cab For Cutie's Ben Gibbard takes up a solo project the results can be stellar -- just look at The Postal Service. So his newest project, a team effort with Son Volt's Jay Farrar (read an extended Q&A with Jay from earlier this summer here), is pretty intriguing. The pair recorded 12 songs for One Fast Move or I'm Gone: Kerouac's Big Sur, writing lyrics based on prose from Jack Kerouac's landmark 1962 novel Big Sur.

The record is set for release on October 20, accompanying a feature-length documentary of the same title, in which both Gibbard and Farrar appear. Gibbard stayed in the original cabin Kerouac wrote about while working on Death Cab's Grammy-nominated 2008 album, Narrow Stairs. Full tracklist on the jump.

1. California Zephyr
2. Low Life Kingdom
3. Willamine
4. All In One
5. Breathe Our Iodine
6. These Roads Don't Move
7. Big Sur
8. One Fast Move Or I¹m Gone
9. Final Horrors
10. Sea Engines
11. The Void
12. San Francisco

Keep Phoenix New Times Free... Since we started Phoenix New Times, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of Phoenix, and we would like to keep it that way. Offering our readers free access to incisive coverage of local news, food and culture. Producing stories on everything from political scandals to the hottest new bands, with gutsy reporting, stylish writing, and staffers who've won everything from the Society of Professional Journalists' Sigma Delta Chi feature-writing award to the Casey Medal for Meritorious Journalism. But with local journalism's existence under siege and advertising revenue setbacks having a larger impact, it is important now more than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" membership program, allowing us to keep covering Phoenix with no paywalls.

We use cookies to collect and analyze information on site performance and usage, and to enhance and customize content and advertisements. By clicking 'X' or continuing to use the site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. To find out more, visit our cookies policy and our privacy policy.


Join the New Times community and help support independent local journalism in Phoenix.


Join the New Times community and help support independent local journalism in Phoenix.