Local Wire

Wayne Coyne Swaps Phantogram for Treasure MammaL on "She's Leaving Home"

Back in April, we reported that Wayne Coyne had tapped beloved Phoenix weirdo-rockers Treasure MammaL to participate in a Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band cover album, called With a Little Help From My Fwends.

It started after the Flaming Lips saw Treasure MammaL perform at Coyne's Oklahoma City art gallery, The Womb. Coyne then reached out to Gil, asked him to pick a song, and Gil chose "She's Leaving Home," the Lennon-McCartney creation about a girl who runs away from her parents.

See also: Phoenix's Treasure MammaL Joins Forces with Flaming Lips' Wayne Coyne

The band recorded the song, and even released a video.

Well, scratch all that. A press release from Coyne's camp announced a release date of October 28 and included a track list, and among the huge names listed was the surprising revelation that "She's Leaving Home" will no longer be performed by Treasure MammaL but by a crazy collaboration featuring Phantogram, Julianna Barwick, and Spaceface, a Tennessee psych-rock.

We've reached out to Treasure MammaL to get the story; we'll update when we hear back.

It looks like Coyne changed priorities sometime in the last few months, moving from one band covering one song to featuring multiple artists on each track. And who can blame him for picking Phantogram to cover "She's Leaving Home"? The original version is a dreary, sad thing, and Phantogram's hypnotic electronica, combined with Barwick's wordless, avant-garde vocal stylings, and whatever the hell Spaceface brings to the table, promises to be a pretty impressive cover.

But never fear, Phoenix boosters -- Treasure MammaL is still on the album. The band has shifted to "Good Morning Good Morning," a subtly complex Lennon composition that features rapidly changing time signatures and bombastic horns.

The band will collaborate with experimental indie-rockers Zorch and the massive pipes of singer-songwriter Grace Potter.

It's hard not to get excited while looking at the list of collaborations the album will feature. Most songs feature three barely connected artists. (Some songs feature just two artists; one song exclusively features Electric Wurms, a Coyne side project.) The opening track, the legendary "Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band," features My Morning Jacket, Dinosaur Jr.'s J. Mascis, and some band called Fever the Ghost; "Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds" features the WTF-inducing combo of Miley Cyrus, the Flaming Lips, and Moby; "Being for the Benefit of Mr. Kite!" features Flaming Lips, Maynard James Keenan, Puscifer, and a Florida band called Sunbears!

Check out the NSFW video for "Lucy in the Sky With Diamonds" here:

With A Little Help From My Fwends is now available for pre-order from Warner Bros. Records. A pre-order will get a pair of instant downloads, "Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds" and "Fixing a Hole." All proceeds from sales of the album will benefit The Bella Foundataion, an Oklahoma City-based nonprofit assisting financially hurting pet owners with veterinary costs.

Sure, Treasure MammaL is just one of the albums small handful of less-known bands paired with more prominent artists. But it's a testament to their artistic vision that a fellow weirdo like Wayne Coyne would tap them for a project like this. Go Phoenix.

Check out the track listing below:

01. Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band - My Morning Jacket, Fever the Ghost, and J. Mascis

02. With A Little Help From My Friends

The Flaming Lips, Black Pus, and The Autumn Defense

03. Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds

The Flaming Lips, Miley Cyrus, and Moby

04. Getting Better

Dr. Dog, Chuck Inglish, and Morgan Delt

05. Fixing A Hole

Electric Würms

06. She's Leaving Home

Phantogram, Julianna Barwick, Spaceface

07. Being For The Benefit Of Mr. Kite!

The Flaming Lips, MJ Keenan, Puscifer, and Sunbears!

08. Within You Without You

Birdflower, The Flaming Lips, and Morgan Delt

09. When I'm Sixty-Four

Def Rain, The Flaming Lips, and Pitchwafuzz

10. Lovely Rita

Tegan and Sara and Stardeath and White Dwarfs

11. Good Morning Good Morning

Zorch, Grace Potter, Treasure MammaL

12. SGT. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band (Reprise)

Foxygen, Ben Goldwasser

13. A Day In The Life

The Flaming Lips, Miley Cyrus, and New Fumes

Find any show in Metro Phoenix via our extensive online concert calendar.

9 Tips for Using A Fake ID To Get Into A Show 10 Classic Punk Records That Actually Kind of Suck The 10 Coolest, Scariest, Freakiest Songs About Heroin The 30 Most Disturbing Songs of All Time

Like Up on the Sun on Facebook or follow us on Twitter for the latest local music news and conversation.

KEEP PHOENIX NEW TIMES FREE... Since we started Phoenix New Times, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of Phoenix, and we'd like to keep it that way. With local media under siege, it's more important than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" program, allowing us to keep offering readers access to our incisive coverage of local news, food and culture with no paywalls.
David Accomazzo is a music wrangler, award-winning reporter, critic, and editor with more than a decade in the business.
Contact: David Accomazzo